Regretfully

It is with with sadness and heartbreak that I am posting this message.

My husband (known as MAL to many of you) passed away October 7, 2015.

I was unaware of his blog until after his death and have spent many hours reading his posts. I will be leaving his blog open as it is my wish to learn more about my husband from the interactions of his followers and friends.

Please feel free to share any stories or insights as they will be appreciated.

Laa, MAL’s wife

  1. What a loss. He wrote with such strength and character and purpose usually with a glint in his eye that I am truly shocked and deeply saddened at this terrible news. Thank you for letting us know.

    I looked forward to his take on issues and opinions and controversies he offered and he always made me not just think but evaluate and then re-evaluate my own opinions. I am a better person for this so I am indebted to MAL for enriching my life in so many small but meaningful ways yet I have no means to repay what I owe other than truly missing him.

  2. I am a newer reader to his blog, but have very much enjoyed reading his thoughts and posts here. I am deeply sorry for your loss…

    Respectfully,
    bratt

  3. Deeply sorry to hear this news. MAL liked every post I ever wrote. His posts were wonderfully written and insightful. My thoughts are with you.

  4. I also am a newer reader, but can say I was made feel welcome and invited into the conversation with out reservation by your husband. We morn with you. We send love, care, feelings to you. We listen for your words, often they will be unspoken. May light enter your world again soon and drive the sadness away. Many hugs, my best wishes. Many shoulders to lean on, and many ears to hear you with. Hugs

  5. I’m so sorry to hear this news. My heartfelt wishes go out to you. MAL’s writings on atheism, religion, and life were very thoughtful and enlightening. I shall miss him.

  6. My sincerest condolences

  7. Very sorry for your loss and ours.
    He spoke with clarity and made many Atheists feel less lonely. He did good in this world for that reason alone.

  8. That is terrible news. I am appalled and so very sad for your loss.

  9. I’m so deeply sorry for your loss. MAL touched many lives here on WordPress. We will miss him. Thank you for letting us know.

    *hug*

  10. Shocked doesn’t even begin to express it. What happened?

    He was an awesome blogger, true to his word, and a friend in a genuine, albeit remote, way.

  11. Very sorry to see this, and for your loss. He will be sorely missed.

  12. My deepest sympathies. He will be missed.

  13. What a loss. He will be missed

  14. Laa, I am so very sorry to hear. Your husband was wonderful encouragement when I first started blogging. He will be greatly missed.

    LD

    • Rita
    • November 22nd, 2015

    My heartfelt condolences to you and your family. What a sad loss.

  15. Please know that this might seem like a community of strangers, but it is also a community of great love. My heart broke when I saw this post today. Not because I knew your husband very well, but because he will be missed and I hurt for you and his family. My deepest heartfelt condolences to you all.

  16. I am so very, very sorry for your loss. The person I knew as MAL was a very generous person, quick to praise and offerings of encouragement. As you can probably tell from the other comments, he has touched the lives of many people.

  17. I am sorry for your loss. I appreciated your husband and his wit, engagement and writing. He will be missed. I grieve for what your family has lost and if you need anything please feel free to reach out to me.

  18. You have my sincere sympathies.

    • Violet
    • November 22nd, 2015

    I’m deeply sorry for your loss. MAL gave me a lot of encouragement and support when I first deconverted from christianity about a year ago…I will always feel grateful for knowing him, even if it was only online. I considered him to be a great mind and thinker, and a very compassionate person. He will be missed.

  19. What sad news. My heart goes out to you.

  20. I am so sorry

  21. I’m so sorry for your loss. He was an inspirational man and will be greatly missed.

  22. This is such sad news. He was so interesting and authentic, he gave a very different perspective of atheism than I’d ever read or seen. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  23. What sasa news! I am deeply sorry for your loss. He was a fine bloke.

    • Argus
    • November 22nd, 2015

    I think the finest epitaph for a blogger is “Will be sadly missed”.

    MAL will be very sadly missed: we mourn for one of our own.

    My deepest sympathies to you and yours, and my very best wishes to all he held dear.

  24. Omgosh…I’m so sorry for your loss. He was well liked here as you can see. May you find comfort and peace in time.

  25. Your husband was a powerful writer with very well-thought ideas. He will be very missed by all of us. I am sorry for your loss and wish words could make the situation better.

    • KIA
    • November 23rd, 2015

    from our little family to yours. having recently known the loss of loved ones, we express our sadness and condolences. best wishes from Arizona. -KIA

  26. My condolences for your loss, MAL was regular reading for me. 😦

  27. Truly, the world lost a great man that day.
    Please know that MAL was well loved by many of us, and will be sorely missed. Though we didn’t agree on everything, as he was atheist and I a Deist Pagan, he was never one to simply brush off a religious follower if real, honest conversation was to be had. His morals and virtues were well rounded, his writing had strength, and his mind was one of the sharpest and unbiased the blogging community had to offer.

    My deepest sympathies and condolences for your untimely loss.
    -Tarnished

  28. My deepest condolences

  29. Hello Laa,

    I am deeply sorry to hear of MAL’s passing and offer my heartfelt condolences for your loss.

    MAL was a spot of sanity in a world gone mad. I often found his posts enlightening and thought-provoking. We didn’t always agree, but even when arguing with MAL, I always had enormous respect for him.

    The world just got a little more duller without him.

    With love,

    Xandra.

  30. Your husband was just wonderful. Smart, witty, cutting at just the right times. If you two chose each other, I imagine you’re a very special person.
    If you’re ever in the south of France I’d be honoured to have you over for lunch, dinner, drinks, whatever you like.
    My most sincere sympathy,
    E.

  31. I am so sorry. You have my deepest condolences and sympathies. Please know that for many of us, this blog was an intellectual hub where ideas and thoughts were exchanged to enrich lives.

  32. i’m broken-hearted for you. You are in my thoughts and i wish you find some peace in His writings

  33. I am so sorry for your loss. I am so sorry to hear that he is no longer here. I always wished him well…hoped he was well, and now, he’s not here. I don’t know from what and how he passed, but I do hope it was peacefully. As you are finding out now through his blog, he was cared for by many here and can only imagine that in his real life as well. He will be missed. Again, so sorry for your loss.

  34. I am so, so sorry for your loss. Thank you for taking the time to post your message and let us know about his passing. I hope you are finding strength each day and wish you all of my deepest sympathies for his passing. Take care.

  35. As you have seen by the comments here Laa, Mal was loved by all whose lives he touched, and he touched many, mine included.
    Mal gave me a different perspective on life and even as an ordained minister I really enjoyed and valued the conversations that we had about all sorts of topics.
    My heart breaks for you
    Regards
    Preacher On The Web

  1. November 22nd, 2015
  2. November 23rd, 2015

Leave a Reply

