In Progress … Please Wait

A lot of believers spend a great deal of time worshipping their deity of choice. You know the one, the deity their parents handed down to them like an old bicycle from grandpa. That religious belief takes a lot of effort. They are in church once, twice, maybe more times per week.

The math quickly: 16 waking hours times 7 is 112 waking hours per week. If you take away 3 (18.75%) hours per day for meals and meal related things we’re down to 91. Let’s say we spend an hour per day (6.25%) on hygienic activities. Basic survival means we spend 50% of our lives doing mandatory things as a kind of average value.That’s 12 hours per day to stay alive and leaves us 84 hours per week for other stuff.

That doesn’t count the hours spent each week at work or travelling to and from work. It takes 50% of our time to simply keep breathing. Of the other 50% we have about 9 hours per day 5 days a week for work as a sort of minimum. That drops our 84 hours to 39 on average, less for a great many people.

To get a calculation, let’s say the religious believer goes to a meeting building 3 times per week. Preparation, travel, and meeting time (I’m guessing) take up the better part of 4.5 hours or 13.5 hours per week.

13.5 hours is 34.62% of our available time, on average.

https://thedevelopersinfo.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/with_title2.jpg?w=595

Where there is a choice, believers (arguably) spend more than 1/3 of their disposable time worshipping their ‘deity of choice’. Now let’s add in daily prayer and other events such as bible study and discussion etc. It can quickly and easily become 50% of their disposable time. That would leave them 19.5 hours per week to do things other than survive, work, and worship. Average television time for Americans is around 3 hours per day (ref) , and that drops the disposable time to a negative value. I didn’t count household chores etc. You can use the link to adjust the values to see where the time goes.

So where do the religious folk get their worshipping time from? If religion was an app on your phone, it’d be too busy to be useful.

 

 

    • Annie B
    • June 13th, 2015

    Good think I hate television 😉

    • Yeah, I use those tv hours for other things too. Thanks for commenting.

        • Annie B
        • June 13th, 2015

        I adore your words and your reason. You know I do.

        • Hmm wow, thank you.

            • Annie B
            • June 13th, 2015

            I am not so blinded by my faith as to not appreciate the reality that it is unreasonable. I appreciate all you write.

            • I find that quite flattering. Thank you. I also find it quite interesting, words to think about.

  1. Gap moments 😉

  2. Haven’t you heard of multi-tasking? 🙂

    But seriously, around here the majority of religious folk never, or very seldom, attend religious services, or take time out for prayer.

    • That was the hidden, unasked, point of the post. Even if you multitask, to get the ‘recommended’ religious activity into your life it has to be infused in all you do – no time for physics classes or studying statistics etc. The value of education is not stressed except for religious education and then they are even too busy for that. There is not enough time to do all the learning needed to be religious _and_ be a critical thinker.

        • Ain’t No Shrinking Violet
        • June 14th, 2015

        41 years of catholicism stole nearly all my life from me. I went to mass daily, ready through the entire bible every year, prayed the rosary, etc. Oh, to get back all those hours! I’ve met a few life-long atheists who asked me why I never saw through the bull shit. It’s because I was too BUSY…the church took all of my time, money, and efforts. To meet all the demands of god/church I was kept running from dawn to dusk.

        When my faith finally broke I sat down to THINK, for the first time ever. Wow…that did not turn out well for religion.

        Lots of people don’t realize how much time and life religion steals, so this is a very pertinent post.

        • When I first admitted I was an atheist I was angry exactly because of the ‘living’ that had been denied me by religious belief. I was very angry about it.

            • Ain’t No Shrinking Violet
            • June 14th, 2015

            I keep waiting for the anger to pass, but it hasn’t thus far. Religion took the best years of my life. I suppose I can be happy I’m out of it now, but now I’m disabled with a disabled son and have virtually no freedom to do anything. Were that I had been an atheist when I was young, and religious when I was old…that would have been a better deal.

            Such is life. At least my MIND is now my own, and that is no small victory.

            • When the anger passed it was because I had embraced nihilism or perhaps it was the other way around. I can’t say for sure. I could say much more than a comment would allow. The very idea that we are free is more powerful than any experience it might bring. There is much to be said for the power of simply sitting and watching nature do its thing. The marvel of dragonflies hunting gnats in the back yard is more significant than 1000 prayers. The idea that someone might bring me a gift is more precious than any gift they could have brought. Living is how you perceive it, at least to me.

                • Ain’t No Shrinking Violet
                • June 14th, 2015

                I’ve have been pondering nihilism for a few months, and have strong leanings in that direction. The first christian I talked to after my deconversion asked me if I was a nihilist in a *very* disgusted tone…I didn’t even know what nihilism was at the time. Now I know a little more, but don’t understand why so many people, both atheist and christian, find it so abhorrent. Perhaps one has to go through the fires of devout religion, then lose faith, to understand the appeal of it.

                • There is no appeal to struggling against and finally learning that you like spinach. Nihilism is not so much an idea or revelation as it is a conclusion… all that is good in life was built by those who either didn’t know better or did so in spite of the reality.

                    • Ain’t No Shrinking Violet
                    • June 14th, 2015

                    “There is no appeal to struggling against and finally learning that you like spinach.”

                    Ha! I love your practical mind, MAL. I aspire to have such a practical mind myself.

                    “Living is how you perceive it, at least to me.” I have a little bit of a problem with the idea that perspective is everything in all things. This can easily take us into the cult of positive thinking, which as a former psych nurse, I believe is harmful. Manipulating your perspective can be a great way to cope and view life if you don’t force yourself to see everything as good…otherwise it twists your mind as much as religion.

                    Though considering you’re a nihilist, which everyone seems to think is just a bunch of hopelessness and depression, perhaps being overly positive isn’t a problem of yours. I certainly don’t see nihilism as a negative conclusion, but it appears the vast majority of people disagree and think I’m a negative person for considering it. I don’t think I am…I just like to call a spade a spade.

                    • Despite what you’ve outlined as bad, it remains true that living _is_ how you perceive it. Sometimes that is good and sometimes it is bad. For the most part people don’t notice it. Still they ask “why isn’t my life wonderful?” and it almost always turns out to be a perspective thing. Pity the poor rich kid?

                      Delusion is not only always possible, it is a way of life for a great many people. Most of them live in fear.

                      The cult of positive thinking is yet another perversion of the truth because it ignores the truth in favor of some idealized vision of what ‘might’ be possible while ignoring the actual facts of existence. Positive thinking does not fix what is wrong with most people. They were doomed as children to believe in a world that doesn’t exist.

    • preacherontheweb
    • June 14th, 2015

    As a preacher I would love the people to worship. But when I look at the logical way you lay out just how much waking tome we have per week to use, I get worried that if there is too much worshipping going on, the people might neglect to do other important things….

  3. Haha great post MAL, love starting my mornings off with your insights, makes me smile throughout my day I swear.
    Thank you for today’s smile.

    ~slave bri

    • You’re welcome 😀glad your week is off with a smile

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

