Color Outside The Lines

If there is something that Laci missed in her video I’m not sure what it is.

Color is not something, in this case, that should be kept in neatly arranged lines. There are a lot of non-black people that don’t understand what Laci is talking about and I’m not sure I have the credentials to explain it to anyone but there are a few things I can relate from my own experience.

I don’t like to see my friends have to put up with an attitude from a white person who makes them feel second class. I stand up and call out white people who do that so that they’ll know next time.

I don’t like to see men in the grocery store where I shop looking at me with trepidation, we should be able to meet in friendly ways on the street but black people have learned to be extra cautious, to the point that it ruins opportunities for us all. I try to change that one smile and ‘hello’ at a time. It’s been so noticeable at times that I want to wear a shirt that says “I’m not a  cop”.

We all judge people, it’s a human thing. I try to remove any racial qualities to my judgements. This is specific to me because it changes how I think about other people. It has not been an easy task.

Everybody you know or see is fighting their own battles. Try to be a nice person and not give other people yet another battle to worry about.

 

We all have a debt to society. It’s up to each of us to do our part to make our society the kind of society that we would like to live in and to make people feel welcome there. Yes, a debt. Especially in western societies.

    • 21stcenturysisyphus
    • May 11th, 2015

    Racism does still exist, but most of the discrimination is really against the lower class. The number of black people and white people in prison is almost the same, just like the number of black people and white people on welfare is almost the same. The reason it is significant is because there are about 5 times as many white people in the U.S.A. as there are black people. However, it’s not like cops are only going after black people, it’s just that you only hear those stories. The culture problem isn’t “black” culture, it’s “poor” culture. I’m white, and when I lived in a poor neighborhood, we were all harassed by the police and people were constantly getting arrested and getting ridiculous sentences. The violence and crime was just part of our culture though, so we continued to do it. If we want to slow the rates of crime, we need to stop segregating the poor and start integrating them with the middle class. When everyone in your neighborhood has a gun and sells drugs, you’re probably going to do the same, no matter what your race is. Racism is being kept alive by people who assume that everything is about race. Criminals get shot every day, both white and black. If you don’t wanna get shot, don’t commit crime. We need to fix the poverty problem, not blame everything on race. That’s my 2 cents anyway.

  1. I know its wrong, but i just can’t help myself… i hate purples.

    • Haahahahhahahahsha

  2. It’s rare to read someone who understands that each of us owes a debt to the world in which we are born, specifically the intricate construction of a global civilization.

    It would be nice if we could say that one problem is more important that another or that a set of statistics is the final word on problem resolution.

    We cannot have a political system that rewards wealthy politicians for appealing to our darkest feelings and have a just society based on the rule of law.

    We cannot begin to solve our problems until we stop giving power to people who knowingly lie to us.

    • Thanks for commenting. We cannot solve our problems using the same thinking we used when we created them. — Albert Einstein

      • So true…

  3. I have no idea how to solve the racism problem in the entire country. I can only tell you of what happened to Ron and I this last three weeks. Week 1 we were asked if we knew if any blacks had moved into our community. We replied we had not heard of any but it was not a worry of ours. Week 2 we see an older black woman walking to church Sunday morning. We also meet this woman a few times while out walking at night around our community. Week 3 we go our for our walk and the third house down from us has the same black lady sitting out side. Ron and I detour from our walk down the road to her driveway, introduce our self and welcome her to our community. We see the relief cross her face as when we walked up to her she was nervous. I wonder why , she was in a community of all white people who were less than friendly and some what suspicious of her, just because of her skin color. Ron and I showed her where we lived, told her that if she needed anything to please come over or let us know. We wished her well and then left for our walk. Now we see this lady almost every night when we walk. She waves and speaks to us, and seems to be a happy older lady that just wants what we all do. Hugs

    • Very nice of you. it takes so little to just be a human and it does so much.

  4. Interesting post. One of your previous commenters mentioned poverty and class differences. Over here in South Africa, because of apartheid class differences used to equal race differences. And yet white people like me are outnumbered 20 to 1.

    Racism is still rampant, on both sides. I even have one white old school friend in my FB friends, who is in the UK, having left the country out of fear, who regularly posts white supremacist BS about how “bad” it is for white people in SA now. For the most part, he is wrong. I’m always nice to everybody, and most are good to me.

    Most of my neighbours are black, and many people around me. My boss is black, although he’s not South African. Yet class differences still mean that most lower-earning people are black, and that’s changing, but slowly.

    It occurred to me only now that I don’t know, or have forgotten, if you are black or white, male or female. I’m guessing white.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

