Proof That The Christian God Exists!

Yeah, I know. That title is more exciting than this post will be. I do that a lot. Still, bear with me this is pretty close.

I’ve been thinking today about the people that tell me answered prayers are evidence of their god existing.

https://i1.wp.com/www.bohindy.com/uploads/2/2/7/4/22745310/1224283.jpg

I know that looks more like a collision between methane and a flame, but whatever.

I wish Christians would keep a tally of the prayers they prayed which were answered with ‘no’ or ‘not now’. They are fond of remembering the ones they think were answered with a yes but they can never tell you how many were answered with no or not now – essentially not answered at all.

Do me a favor, ask them how many went unanswered when you hear that trope.

https://i0.wp.com/www.psycholocrazy.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/animal-monkey_00214527-e1375189304990.jpg

I’m sure you’ll get a reaction a lot like the second image.

More seriously, if supposedly answered prayers is evidence of the god’s existence via interaction with the world it should be fair to say that un-answered prayers are also an evidence of the character of any given god. That is to say that if a god does not answer should we count that as abstention or as a Fsck You. In either case it is not a positive answer.

Matt. 18:20 For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.

Clearly the Christian god is going to hear a lot of prayers.

If that did not sink in, this means that Gov. Rick Perry got the middle finger from his god in a big way. Of course that won’t count in the tally of what evidence is. No, that was just a ‘not now’ answer.

Do us all a favor, ask those that use answered prayers as evidence for a list of prayers that were not answered. Ask for details. Those prayers too are evidence to be considered. Let’s start making sure it gets the consideration that it deserves.

When the counting is done, here’s a link you might want handy: A book on statistics

I’m not even going to make the argument that they don’t know statistics. I think that simply asking for the list will be enough to start the conversation or terminate it completely.

Give it a try and let us all know how it worked out.

 

  1. Brilliant idea! I might just do that…although I predict a pretty evasive answer…hmmm 🙂

    • Yeah, that second picture is what I expect to see 🙂

      • Yes sir :). I think your prediction might just be correct.

        • Still raining. But it doesn’t stop me thinking 😉

          • It rained here. It stopped now. Rain is good sometimes. Their is some comfort in the sound of rain and thunder. Sometimes the night calls for it. Might even help with the thinking :).

            • It sure does when it’s gentle. Makes a lot of indoor activity more fun too

              • Blame me. I danced. Rain follows. Coincidence? Don’t be silly.

                • LOL

              • Yes indeed :).

    • Ain’t No Shrinking Violet
    • April 27th, 2015

    I didn’t notice how the fire was coming out of their arses until you mentioned methane! Good eye and a quick wit!

    My deconversion was driven by the power of prayer being proven bunk (I believe you’ve read the story). I figure this has happened to a lot of people but my guess is most are too embarrassed to admit it. I wrote about it anyway despite the shame…other folks have to know this kind of thing happens in christianity because prayer is jammed down your throat from an early age.

    • A Psychopath and a Scholar
    • April 27th, 2015

    Great post. Unfortunately, most religious people are not very logical. They’ll find an answer for any question, no matter how absurd the answer may be. They still haven’t found a good response to the Epicurean Paradox, and that was around a couple hundred years before Jesus.
    For anyone reading this who isn’t familiar with the Epicurean Paradox; it is as follows:
    “Is God willing to prevent evil, but not able?
    Then he is not omnipotent.
    Is he able, but not willing?
    Then he is malevolent.
    Is he both able and willing?
    Then whence cometh evil?
    Is he neither able nor willing?
    Then why call him God?”

    • Yes, but the conversation only begins when you can make them think for themselves… that’s the unstated goal of the post

  2. You know me friend, I am not about to start a wild goose chase that may end up in me soiling my hands.

    • LOL, no, I have no thoughts of that

  3. Not too many years ago here, a kindergarten teacher was tried for sexually molesting the children in his care. The police collected evidence from dozens of children whose stories ranged from just believable to the absolutely bizarre and impossible. Only a couple of believable stories were presented by the prosecution. The judge denied the defendant permission to use the rest of the stories as part of his defence as they were “irrelevant”.

    You can almost guarantee (like in the trial mentioned above) that most of the unanswered prayers will be excluded as irrelevant, or not worthy of being counted as a prayer.

    • So many people have had their lives ruined by suggestions planted and the happenings of sex just remembered through repressed memories. Not to say sex abuse to children doesn’t exist but when you have an entire room of kids coming forth after sessions with a therapist trying to “guide” children to the truth, usually what they uncover is something so unbelievably horrid they think it has to be the truth and they think kids can’t make it up. Trouble is, children can and do – for many reasons.

    • preacherontheweb
    • April 28th, 2015

    So Nicely Put

    • I wasn’t so sure you’d go along with that one preacher. 😉

    • entropy
    • April 29th, 2015

    😀

  4. I saw you on Om’s site and I liked your blog name. Praise the Lord! It wasn’t another site extolling the Almighty love of Jesus! I love the question you say to ask because you are so right. I often have said that God has a pretty good deal going. He can’t lose no matter what happens. It lets people off the hook from taking responsibility for their actions and if they do a bad thing a simple asking for forgiveness let’s you off the hook, too – they think. Pretty easy. But although I’m not Christian I am not without guidance on how to live my life and understanding how the causes I make affect my life – how to be the one at the controls. After denouncing the irrationality of Christianity and then waiting another 15 years searching I chose Nichiren Buddhism ( not to be confused with Tibetan or Zen or Shinto and others. ) No monks no temples no fat happy buddhas. Just understanding that we made all our own causes to be where we are and likewise can decide what we want our future to be instead of being slapped around and say is not our fault. so. . . . I will definitely be back to read some more!

    • I tend to sometimes come off sort of Buddhist because for some reason my natural thoughts sort of line up. I’m not religious at all, follow no creed but my own.

      I’m really glad that you found my blog and will come back. I hope that you find more that you like. I’ve got a lot of reading to do at your blog as well…

      • Part of the fun of blogging. Finding new people who have something to say. I actually have 2 blood’s, but 2 more will be spawning off one of them. My main blog is http://mynameisjamie.net. Itis a prison blog for the father of one of my grandsons. It’s very serious and often emotional. i compose piano music for many of the posts. I an starting another blog just for the music so if someone wanted to find them easily they will be in one place. I am also writing a book about this and need a separate blog for that to self publish. 4 of the chapters can be found on the blog for the book “Inside the Forbidden Outside”. My other blog http://watchandwhirl.com is where I write about everything else. I know I’ve just used this as a way to interest you to reading my work and I also do my best to do what I can to help my reader’s find new places to go. Sharing the love. Promoting my book before it’s done is the only way to get it out there to others social media if they end up seeing value in it.

        • I was reading the mynameisjamie so far. It will take me a while to get caught up 🙂

          • Yes, it is a lot to read. Many people don’t know much about our prison system. They are aware more about the police but realize how much the two are connected and why. Is a horrible thing this plan being carried out. The amount of American companies who bid on inmate labor is staggering and shocking but the police and the justice system keep imprisoning to fill up the prisons.

  5. Reblogged this on The Atheist .

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

