Killing The First Born For Pass Over

Pass Over is a really big Jewish holiday. They have lots of things to celebrate but the name’s origin has a gruesome story. While the Jews were enslaved in Egypt (if you believe that part) Moses is born and after 40 years as a sheep herder decides to go and free his people.

“When the Pharaoh refuses, God unleashes 10 devastating plagues on the Egyptians, culminating in the slaying of every first born son by an avenging angel. The Israelites mark the doorframes of their homes with lamb’s blood so that the angel will recognize and “pass over” each Jewish household.”

Later, to celebrate the killing of the first born sons the Jewish people had Jesus killed at Pass Over time. Of course they’re never going to tell the tale quite like that but that’s how it happened. YHWH should have put some lamb’s blood on his door, or something like that. The holy book is not quite clear if he was sacrificed before the feast or after but hey they’ve got 8 days in which to do the celebrating.
The whole business of religion is pretty iffy. Here’s a few good reasons why:

Easter, as we know it today, is not really the Pass Over celebration of years gone by. The Christians made a dubious choice and decided that they would celebrate the death (and resurrection) of their man-god hero at exactly the same time as the pagans (you  know them, everyone that’s not a Jew or Christian) were celebrating spring and the rituals of renewal and life. That’s where the name Easter, the rabbit, and the eggs come into it. Enterprising businessmen brought us peeps, jelly beans, and all manner of candy eggs. For those reasons some Christians are getting a bit picky about what they call their celebration. Good on them I say. It’s about time they stopped claiming other people’s holidays.

I just wanted to remind everyone that Pass Over is that time of year when the Jews celebrate killing of other people’s first born sons. Just something to think about as you’re ‘exploding some peeps in the microwave’

 

Nothing makes the holiday more ‘Murican than exploding some stuff.

  1. That, my friend, is a good way to put it.

  2. I miss Hitch. Love the exploding Peeps. I want some bloody Jesus on the cross Peeps to eat. If they made ’em, I’d eat ’em.

  3. What I don’t get is how so many people don’t take these stories and really think about them, don’t weigh what is supposedly being done for these reasons with the possibility of perhaps coming up with better reasons for other solutions that could be implemented, and then comparing and contrasting the likelihood of divinity in action claimed for these brutal stories to see whether or not we have compelling reasons to think them as anything other than what they are: demands for blood sacrifices to replace burnt offerings…. supposedly an improvement in morality!

  4. I thank you for posting this. Some times it takes some one to see and say the obvious for the rest of us to see. In all my years I never added the two things up, and I was versed in the bible. It is a great thing to point out the truth of a situation that shatters the glossy veneer placed over the truth of what we do. I am going to re-blog this on my Toy Box as I think it is so important. Hugs

    • Thank you so much for your kind words!

  5. As always, a terrific post. Raised Catholic, even as I kid I didn’t understand these stories. Good of you to put it so succinctly.

    • Thank you!

    • Ben
    • April 5th, 2015

    Great post. Does anyone else find it odd that the traditional meal for Easter is ham? Not very kosher for Jews or Jewish messiah. Jelly beans , however , could unite the world.

    • LOL, I don’t know about that: http://www.amazon.com/Accoutrements-11849-Bacon-Flavored-Jelly/dp/B001DDA3VE

      • Even as a cannibal, I have to say yuck to that idea.

        • LOL, I skip the jelly beans and candy and go straight for bacon wrapped ham with potatoes and cabbage. Oh, and beer. Beer is proof that god loves us and wants us to be happy!

          • $Amen$ to that, brother!

    • As an immoral, cannibalistic atheist, it is my goal to eat Ken Ham for Easter next year. It’ll be the best Ham I ever had. Too bad my Jewish pals cannot partake of it (or even be invited, cause, well, cause they might call the FBI on me and tell ’em I’m eating a dude for Easter. I wouldn’t want to go to prison. I’m kind of a wimp that way).

  1. April 5th, 2015

Leave a Reply

