Christmas Ghosts

I’m sitting here thinking. Not to myself, the bottle of scotch I got for Christmas and I are having a conversation. It’s not much of a conversation I’ll admit but it is a conversation. The bottle asked me “where is all the Christmas ghosts at?” After correcting its grammar I tried to explain that this was just a story about stirring the conscience of the readers.

https://i1.wp.com/movieactors.com/photos-stars/carol-kane-scrooged-2.jpg

So the bottle says “you have a conscience, why no ghosts?”

That got me to thinking. Why don’t I have ghosts? Ghosts are supposed to be: an apparition of a dead person that is believed to appear or become manifest to the living, typically as a nebulous image. Then it hit me. I don’t believe in the supernatural so I’ll never see ghosts. Wait. I just said because I don’t believe in them I’ll never see them.

It’s an odd way of thinking but in reality I don’t see them so I don’t believe in them is more accurate. There is also no evidence for them that is convincing or credible. Then the bottle said “but when you were a child….” and I cut it off. So what! I was a child then and I did what children do. Now I’m not a child.

https://i2.wp.com/www.apostoliclighthouse.org/Lesson8-7_files/image002.jpgYes, it’s true. When I was a child I was taught to believe that there is a Holy Ghost.

Then I remembered something:

Matthew 12:31-32

31 lWherefore I say unto you, All manner of sin and blasphemy shall be forgiven unto men: but the blasphemy against the Holy Ghost shall not be forgiven unto men. 32 And whosoever speaketh a word against the Son of man, it shall be forgiven him: but whosoever speaketh against the Holy Ghost, it shall not be forgiven him, neither in this world, neither in the world to come.

That’s right folks. I’m unforgiven. Never to be forgiven. The all-loving god of Abraham cannot forgive this one thing and I managed to do that one thing. There are no ghosts, not even holy ones. That childhood indoctrination was not enough, I just can’t believe in what cannot be seen – by design.

So me and the scotch are collaborating, here’s to seeing you in hell HAHAHAHAHAHA

Holy crap did they try to scare us to death. Always watching, always there. Deny the big brother of the god of Abraham and you burn forever. How can we consider people that teach this stuff to their kids as competent parents? Oh, I know they are doing what they think is right and best for their own offspring. Still, looking at it from the big picture how can we let them torture children this way. I know it’s not physical torture, but is physical pain ever the worst part of torture?

Am I saying that teaching theism to your children is child abuse? No. I’m saying it’s torture. An entirely different set of laws apply. No, I’m not going to spend 2500 words justifying that thought. Scotch says we don’t have that much time. Teaching your children something that is against all logic and without evidence and which comes with pain of eternal torture for not believing is torture of a mental kind. Sure, lots of us survived it but there are a lot of messed up people in the world and we are not trying to explain that. Just saying.

I’ve got no Christmas ghosts. There are a couple of things from my past that I don’t want to talk about, but push comes to shove I will. It won’t kill me, it’s just unpleasant to contemplate.

I start the new year like I did the last one. Confident that I did as good as I could in the last and confident I will do as good as I can in the next. No ghosts. Hell be damned. I am not guiltless, but I do not feel guilty. Perhaps this is why no ghosts visit me this time of year?

What ghosts visit you?

  1. I am often remiss. No!
    I am always remiss.
    I guess that is because I don’t have God in my lie..ere.. life.
    Seriously though,
    Thank you for continuing to visit a dead blog.
    (And of course you know.. I have been an atheist since that ‘brite’ sunny day.
    You know the one.
    The one when we all learned to read.
    (Yes! I am an ass, even to the most lov3d of me: The Atheists, Oh, and of course… The Shakespeareans)

    • Be well… it will all work out

  2. Thank you.

    • Texans don’t surrender.

  3. Hahaha this actually made me laugh a lot. Just because the rule itself is so stupid. I mean, you could even love and serve “God” all of your life, but oops if you say something accidental at some point in your life about the holy ghost, you’re just a charred soul. This verse always got me when I was a Christian. It’s what made me afraid to start researching evidence “against” the Bible.

    I agree, teaching the Bible as fact to children is mental torture. Gawd, there’s so many things that it does to a child’s psyche…. and it’s often hard to shake off even as a more educated adult. Craziness.

    • it absolutely is… I survived… 🙂

      • Yes, you did! 🙂

        • we all survive… it’s all about what we do after that

          • It’s so true. Ugh it just sucks when you come so far after religion only to find out that the secular world isn’t all that forgiving either. In the sense that you can work hard, be punctual, try your best and you can still be fired, or your personality is too off for most people to stick around, etc. It’s still better than the religious trap though. But alas, as we both said last night. “I am.” It doesn’t matter about all the other people anyways. I am enough. 😉

          • O.o That was a bit pity party-ish. Wow. Sorry.

  4. Of Coors We don’t.
    Are you kidding?
    Sam Houston was from Tennessee. I am in Memphis (not my fault, just a simple matter of logistics)

    • there is the point, right? don’t surrender

  5. If there any ghosts, we haven’t made our acquaintances yet

    • exactly…..

  6. No. No point. Not really. You have read some of my blog. You know there is never a point.

    • no point was the exact point.. right?

      • I guess it was.

  7. I am really trying to save you (pun intended) from me.

  8. Have you (honestly) read any of my recent posts?

  9. I am cynical; and drunk, and suicide.
    All good dreamers pass this way.
    Ask Ernest

  10. Or ask Richard.

  11. Interesting that all those holy spirit references are from Paul.

    • I’m fairly convinced that much of the problems that Christians have with each other is that some go to the church of Paul and others to the church of Jesus.

      • You and me alike, brother. You and me alike.

  12. Another superb post!

  13. Ha, you and your Scotch were having quite an interesting discussion. Mental torture is correct…when you are raised to believe a certain way it is very hard to later on shake off all those teachings. Although, I do believe in teaching them what the bible, religion and all that good stuff is. You see, I believe you give your kids all the tools necessary to decide on their own what they see fit. I will guide them the best I can, but ultimately I want them to decide what works best for them. Hopefully when it comes to this, their common sense gives them a clear picture.

    I like your thoughts with, confident you did the best you could last year and will do the same this year. Good motto to start the new year by. Achievable…at the end, it’s all we can, all we should aim to do, the best we can. Because frankly, I can’t give more than my best :). My best is all I have, we all have! And hopefully it’s enough for those around us!

    I am not guiltless, but I do not feel guilty….LOVE THAT! Amazing how one sentence can change your thoughts..!

    • Theists have words that are supposed to change your thoughts. I think non-believers can do better than that book.

      Teach a child about a religion and it becomes a theist. Teach a child about all religions and it becomes an atheist.

      Happy New Year

      • Well in that I must agree….I do not teach my princesses just one religion, I teach many. As much as their little minds can learn. Options my dear…I believe the more options you give them the better choices they will make.

        Happy New Year’s to you and yours! Here’s to a year of appreciating everything and everyone good in your life! Hoping the world treats you well this year my dear MAL!

        • I hold the very same sentiments for you and yours. I hope the world treats us all better this year.

          • Ditto :)!…Yes indeed…better for all :)…smiling more for 2015!

    • preacherontheweb
    • January 3rd, 2015

    Mmmmmmm! One way of talking about it! Interesting though

    • Sometimes, preacher, I see the world a bit differently.

  14. Reblogged this on Opher's World and commented:
    I hope you like these too. myatheistlife is a great site.

  15. Thanks for a great thought provoking site! I love it. Perhaps you like mine – Opher’s World and my books on antitheism. Cheers and all the best. Opher

  1. January 2nd, 2015

Leave a Reply

