Faith And Violence

I know that there are many believers who think their faith is non-violent. This post is about that very point.

https://i1.wp.com/sojo.net/sites/default/files/mainimages/blog/Dr.%20mukwege_145404022.jpg

I would like all and any theists to show me how their faith is non-vilent.

I get it,  you yourself are not violent. I’m asking you to show me that your sect is not violent. Show me how it is hat I should not consider your belief a part of a violent sect. That’s right, I am presupposing that your belief is violent and I’m asking you to show me that it is not so. Show me that your belief and sect has never been violent. Show me that your sect has never been and will not be violent.

 

Go on, show me

 

    • gcbuchan@gmail.com
    • December 29th, 2014

    There is no faith or sect that can claim to be totally non violent

    POTW
    Sent from my BlackBerry®

    • The Jains are.

      • ouch, that is true

        • Well, they did, and still do, try. Hard not to like them.

          • they are so inoffensive it is hard to remember them

            • LOL!

  1. My faith is pretty non-violent. Then again, that could be due to the fact it’s less than 100 years old…we don’t believe in “one true path” to the divine…we generally believe in reincarnation rather than heaven/hell…or that we’re too busy taking care of the environment to fight anyone over stupid crap. Heck, a decent number of us are vegetarians for ethical reasons and those of us who aren’t generally refuse to support factory farming and only buy from local/family run farms.

    Obviously I’m not including the idiot teens and attention whores who enjoy going around saying “I’m Wiccan/Pagan/a witch” because they want to feel special but don’t actually adhere to any parts of the faith.

    Jainists probably *do* win though. 😉

  2. My “sect” is very, very violent. We pride ourselves on it, actually. We’re the cannibal, atheist heathens. We just finished our annual “War on Christmas.” This year we sent Atheist Drones to blow up the Vatican whilst we ate Christian Toddler Stew and sang “Prince” songs in the nude. Later we had an orgy and bathe in the blood of Lutherans. A wonderful, violent time was had by all. We used to be non-violent and peaceful until the TruChristians told us we were evil and without a moral compass because we did not accept their particular god as our lord and savior. We simply accepted their description of us as true, and now act accordingly. I bet they now wish they’d just kept their bigoted mouths shut. Oh well, live and learn, eh? Live and learn.

  3. Obviously I don’t believe that any theist will be able to answer your question that their faith is non violent. But on another note, I do hope that your holidays are going great! Wishing you all the best and hoping you are finding a little time to enjoy the small things life has to offer you, such as the lovely moon!

    • I took a few minutes to watch last, thinking of the past 😀

      • Well, even just in the past….I hope the thoughts were good ones :)!

  4. Hmm… Maybe you should have phrased the question around faith in Abrahamic religions?

    I think that the problem is that theists will not understand the question. When you faith, you also have blinkers on, and don’t see the implicit intolerance towards other religions… I mean, if your religion is right and you will go to heaven but everyone else won’t, it’s OK to persecute the others, and even the little things that people say about other religions are not perceived as wrong. Racism isn’t racism, etc.

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Sadly, I think you may be quite right about that.

  5. I don’t believe in religion but I do believe in spirituality. Religious leaders have always used it for controlling the people.
    “Religion is for people who are afraid of going to hell. Spirituality is for people who have been there. ”
    I think if I live by the “golden rule.” That all things in my life work wonderfully. Peacefully.
    Great post! 🙂

  6. This is great! I have a mother who tried to do exorcisms on both me and my sister. Perhaps this is not violence, but it was physical abuse. Don’t get me started on a guy I used to be with who thought that it was his God given right to hit me or hold me down when he couldn’t handle me anymore.

    • Welcome. Thanks for stopping and commenting. I can only imagine the terror of what you describe. I’m glad to hear this was an ex, and that you (I hope) are able to be away from your mother. Happy new year

      • Thank you. Here’s to a happy 2015. 🙂

        • I’m not sure what the word happiness means, but if it means I feel successful then I’m all for it and I wish you success in the coming months. 🙂

          • You know, I’m not really sure what happiness means either. It always seems quite elusive – probably because it’s not actually real. I mean this sincerely. It’s not my attempt to sound dark or depressing. Lol. I wish you success for this year, too.:)

            • I find it comforting that someone else feels as I do about the word… I look forward to reading more of your posts

              • Thank you! I always enjoy reading your posts. Though I am bad with commenting. I will try to offer more input this year.

                • I would like that. Now I know where to read your work. I’m enjoying it.

                  • Yay! 😀

    • There is no LIKE button or comments on your blog? That’s a shame.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

