Progress bars

I know that it sounds silly but think about it a design that allows us to measure progress, something that measures the progress of the patterns in your head and lets you know it’s working or not. Sounds like a reasonable thing for intelligent designer to have provided? amirite?

Cubik's Rube

Argument against the human body being the product of intelligent design #234978: lack of progress bars.

I’m bad at a lot of things I’d like to be less bad at. Now, the part where that takes hundreds of hours of effort to make tiny incremental improvements to your skill level, I get. But I’m also painfully aware of the possibility that, after putting hundreds of hours of effort into something, I won’t have achieved anything worth crowing about at the end of it all. That has to be possible as well, right?

My base level of talent at, say, drawing, is so low that, even if I worked really hard at it, to the same degree as other people who’ve practised long enough to get really good (which, let’s face it, is unlikely), I’m not convinced I’d make anything like enough progress for it to be worthwhile. Because that incremental…

View original post 159 more words

  1. Hmmm… even after reading this one, I still find it quite silly. A progress bar for our picking up and becoming proficient in some skill assumes that there is something to measure, but there is no metric to measure here at all.

    I’m lucky in that I’ve tried a few things that I like, and usually get to very good almost immediately. So what’s my progress? I mean, I painted in oil and the result looked photo-realistic on my first attempt. But I only did a few paintings and so my real progress must be close to zero, because although I just happened to be good at it without making any effort, I didn’t learn anything besides the basic technicalities involved.

    Yet, if I didn’t happen to have a gift for it, I could have tried and tried for years, without achieving anything like the result I did immediately. So how can you measure progress?

    On the other hand, I tried learning to play a musical instrument, and found out pretty soon that I have zero talent there. I could practice for years and would still suck.

    I also don’t see what this has to do with a designer.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

