Belief does not create two religions

Here is something that shouldn’t be argued with though I know that there will be those that do. sigh.

Kids Without Religion

Early in the morning, before anyone else is awake, before the birds are even stirring, I walk down to the edge of the stream behind my house. I kneel down and call to my water nymph. She answers.

Not everyone can see her. Not everyone believes I see her. But I worship her. I promise her that I will love and revere her above all others, above my parents, my spouse, my children, myself. I request her help, ask her to carry out acts of mischief on others. Find money and treasure for me. Help me attain my goals. She bends to my will. She exists through me, for me.

Those who don’t believe in my water nymph are a-nymphs. (Not to be confused with nymphos.) Their a-nymphism is a belief system, too, which, through contrast, helps validate my conviction.

This idea of belief and unbelief in nymphs is a…

View original post 781 more words

  1. I love examples like these! They do tend to upset Christians though…

    One thing that’s always bothered me about most religions is actually spoken of in paragraph 2; the idea that you can ask the Gods for material goods, and that They’d be so jealous as to necessarily demand you to love Them more than your family/friends. This concept has always seemed strange to me.

    When I want to get over an illness, I don’t just pray for the comfort it provides…I take medicine and get extra sleep. When I find myself short of funds, I don’t expect the Gods to miraculously shower me with money…I either pick up more hours or cut back on frivolous spending. Prayer is not an opportunity to ask for wealth, power, love, or fame. It’s a time to meditate and thank the Gods (who may very well not exist, though I believe they do) for the world They created (through scientifically sound means). If one wants to see change, one must put time and energy into it.

  2. So eloquently put… I reblogged it too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

