Meaning In Life, 3 Jan 2014

There are a lot of people that want to talk about the meaning of life.

Yeah, I know that comes as no surprise. Google shows About 743,000,000 results (0.25 seconds) results for such a search so there is plenty to read. Is it really so complex that we need that many explanations? Are the explanations so difficult to understand that we need millions of further explanations? Wikipedia has a round up of the question of meaning of life and its many forms.

All that is some good reading, to be certain. I’ll give you a bit of meaning that you can carry around with you if you like:

  • I took my dog for a walk. We had a great time. No politics, no taxes… just me and him and some nature. He has a good outlook on life but apparently not too keen on lobster pieces. I’m with him on that one.
  • My cat likes my dog. They don’t seem to be race conscious or worried too much about fashion.
  • My dog has a hobby that I like to call ‘a ball’ but it keeps him happy. I should get a hobby.
  • My dog is kind, gentle, moral, compassionate, accepting… he’s better than a lot of people I know.

I am not sure how much more meaning you need in your life but I’ll bet that you’d find more of it if you took time to share your pets hobby more often. For some reason they’re more worried about balls than the meaning of life and I’m willing to bet that they have a secret.

My Friend

Peace, out

MAL

  1. This was excellent. My dog, too, knows more about the meaning of life than any human I’ve ever met.

    • I second that.

  2. Perfectly said.

  3. Reblogged this on paarsurrey and commented:
    Paarsurrey says:

    One may like to read the following from Mirza Ghulam Ahmad 1835-1908- the Promised Messiah:

    The Object of Man’s Life and the Means of its Attainment

    Different people, being short-sighted and lacking high resolve, appoint different purposes for their lives and limit themselves to worldly goals and ambitions. But the purpose that God Almighty has appointed for man in His Holy Word is as follows:
    And I have not created the Jinn and the men but that they may worship Me. (The Holy Quran, adh-Dhariyat 51:57)
    That is, I have created men and jinn so that they may know Me and worship Me. Thus the true purpose of man’s life is the worship of God, His understanding and complete devotion to Him.
    It is obvious that man is not in a position to appoint the purpose of his own life, for he does not come into the world of his own accord, nor will he depart there from of his own will. He is a creature and the One Who created him and invested him better and higher faculties than those of all other animals, has also appointed a purpose for his life.
    Whether anyone penetrates to it or not, the purpose of man’s creation without a doubt is the worship and the understanding of God and complete devotion to Him.

    “The Philosophy of the Teachings of Islam” Pages 164-165
    http://www.alislam.org/library/books/Philosophy-of-Teachings-of-Islam.pdf

    • In essence god creates man as his slave? It is the height of narcissism to want such adoration from everyone.

      • it is more than narcissism, it is for survival… not of the god, but of the man

    • In the post https://myatheistlife.wordpress.com/2013/12/19/evidence-that-a-god-exists/ I describe what I would find suitable as evidence for a god. Until you can prove that your god exists there is little to no reason to listen to what you or your holy book says outside of the fact that Muslims seem to have a strange habit of blowing themselves up in the company of innocents. I’m not sure how that is supposed to fit your meaning for life, but I won’t accept that your particular version of a god fairy story is true till you can meet the standard for evidence I’ve listed in my other post. Good luck with that.

      • I don’t accept your standards. Why should one?

        • Well, you don’t have to unless you want to convince myself and others that your stories about a god are actually truths and not just the lies they seem to be.

          • I don’t need to convince you.

            I have no claim to any piety or scholarship; I am an ordinary man in the street in search of Truth wherever I can find it.

            I would like rather you to convince me that there is no God; with your evidences and proofs, if any.

            I very naturally believe in the One-True-God Allah Yahweh, like I very naturally believe in my father and mother.

  4. Gonna ignore the other comment. Yes, playtime with the dog is nothing but smiles. What else could you ask for?

  1. January 5th, 2014

Leave a Reply

