Did You Miss It?

Did you miss the Quadrantids Meteor Shower? I did and I was hopeful of seeing at least a few… damn.

January 2, 3Quadrantids Meteor Shower. The Quadrantids is an above average shower, with up to 40 meteors per hour at its peak. It is thought to be produced by dust grains left behind by an extinct comet known as 2003 EH1, which was discovered in 2003. The shower runs annually from January 1-5. It peaks this year on the night of the 2nd and morning of the 3rd. The thin crescent moon will set early in the evening leaving dark skies for what could be an excellent show. Best viewing will be from a dark location after midnight. Meteors will radiate from the constellation Bootes, but can appear anywhere in the sky.

What I did not miss was the video below. Five things you won’t un-see. Go on, check it out. The human brain is awesome and it gives us talent that we sometimes just can’t believe.

And check out this guy:

 

  1. Some years back, I went out into the California desert with my father and grandfather to see the Perseid meteor shower. That year, it was about the most amazing meteor shower one could hope to see. At the peak, it averaged about one meteor every 3 seconds. There were a few good fireballs too. Early on there was a red one that seemed to skim the atmosphere. Later there was a big blue one that flashed and made a crackling sound. (How some meteors make instant sound on the ground is a bit of a mystery. There are a few theories, but none proven, that I know of.)

    • Now that is exactly the description (close enough) to one of the items on my bucket list… I’m envious

  2. I’ve missed it too – the weather here has been rotten. But I just did watch your BGT vid (the other one said embedding removed at poster’s request). I’d not seen a couple of these. Susan still gives me goosebumps.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

