New Year’s Resolutions

No, I don’t actually have any of those. When I want to do something I just do it. The court case with Nike is still pending.

Having said that, there is something that I don’t want to do next year. To wit:

By contrast with the metaphysical notion, postmodernists claim that a commitment to absolute truth is rooted in Cartesian anxiety and its need for absolute certainty and, accordingly, claim that acceptance of the absolute truth of P entails acceptance of the conjunction of P’s truth in the objective sense and the possibility of a (finite) knowing subject having Cartesian certainty with respect to P. Thus, one postmodernist recently opined that commitment to objective truth and the correspondence theory is merely “…an epistemic project [that] is funded by Cartesian anxiety,’ a product of methodological doubt…”

I do NOT want to explain something that actually causes physical pain to the head of my readers.

Philosophy sucks!

FUCK! I wanted to understand what that person was saying and now I have to go look up 14 papers on philosophy to ensure that I’ve not mistakenly remembered something wrongly.

Just as a ferinstance:

Cartesian anxiety refers to the notion that, ever since René Descartes promulgated his influential

form of body-mind dualism, Western civilization has suffered from a longing for ontological certainty, or feeling that scientific methods, and especially the study of the world as a thing separate from ourselves, should be able to lead us to a firm and unchanging knowledge of ourselves and the world around us. The term is named after Descartes because of his well-known emphasis on “mind” as different from “body”, “self” as different from “other“.

Soooo

“Outside the metaphysical, postmodernists are fucking driving themselves batty trying to figure out what Truth is and they can’t even determine if their tools of investigation work because finding one aspect of truth means you have to accept all the corresponding aspects…

Just in case you’re wondering, Cartesian anxiety is one of the reasons we got the hell out of the 17th century as fast as we could. Okay, not the main reason.

Gah, no more… my head hurts

 

  1. Now that is something not to do! My head almost hurt just reading it.

    • I had to read it several times to know which part to tackle first… ack!

    • lanceleuven
    • December 31st, 2013

    You actually managed to plough through all that? Have a medal! 🙂

    • Like the wrath of a woman scorned, when I get focused and determined… puzzles don’t stand much of a chance

        • lanceleuven
        • December 31st, 2013

        I admire your tenaciousness!

        Personally, I’m at the other end of the spectrum to this guy/girl. I think that if you can’t express your thoughts clearly then you either don’t truly understand them, or you’re simply trying to hide the fact that you’re talking nonsense. If neither of those, then you’re just a pretentious pseudo-intellectual bastard. I could be wrong, but that’s my opinion!

        • In solving puzzles I find it most useful to first assume that I’m not using the right perspective so I try many until it makes sense. In this case the problem was language. I am deeply involved with networking and computers. I could easily write paragraphs which are just as difficult for many people but make perfect sense to me and others who understand the technical language that I can speak.

          In this case, the writer was being technically accurate and quite concise. It just hurts because I know the words are English but do not know what they mean when they are strung together in such a fashion.

          It is poor communication skill but then I don’t think I am part of the target audience, despite the fact that it was published on the Internet.

          All I know is that I know nothing? I certainly don’t speak that version of English yet.

            • lanceleuven
            • December 31st, 2013

            That’s fair enough.

            You’ve clearly taken the time to actually understand what they’re saying, and if you feel that they’re being accurate and concise, then I’ll concede to your authority on the subject. It doesn’t appear that way to me. But I know very little about philosophy!

            • I have a vested interest in AI and find that the objections come in the language of philosophy, so I’ve had to learn some of it.

              I think that philosophy is centuries behind neurobiology and that the ‘hard problem of consciousness’ needs truly to be restated.

              This is the problem that I am working on now. Hope you stick around to find out what blathering I come up with.

        • Thanks for commenting.

            • lanceleuven
            • December 31st, 2013

            Thanks for posting. 🙂

  2. postmodernists claim that a commitment to absolute truth is rooted in Cartesian anxiety

    PoMo’ists have their head fairly far up their own asses, and thus much of the spoor they exude into the world can and should be safely ignored.

    • Which begs the question: what is the OSHA approved safe handling method for po’mo spoor disposal?

      • A 10ft pole, a firm understanding of physicalism and surprisingly, a sandwich bag with a seal and you’re good to go. 🙂

        • HAHAHAHAHA

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

