Not inaccurate. Just not the right answer.

Just for the LOLs

  1. That’s excellent! I’d love to know the thinking that led to the word ‘China’.

    • I’m thinking (‘one of a kind’ for original versus ‘many of kind’) ‘mass produced’ is a much better antonym than ‘artificial’.

      • The word itself is misabused in that you can have the original or an original so the opposite is ‘not original’ which has many uses such as copy, second run, second hand, and you would not want to purchase a box of the original condoms but you would like all the condoms you buy to be original. It’s not really a good word for that test.

        • I agree, and that’s why I have always done badly on multiple choice tests: let me explain a definition, for example, and I’ll show depth of understanding. ‘Original’ has many angles to its definition depending on the context in which it is used (as you point out), so I try to keep this stuff in mind when I have created tests… I wanted to give the student an opportunity to demonstrate what they knew rather than take the low road and use an easier way for me to collect snap shot marks. (There’s no bullshit guessing in paragraph answers.) (I used to love handing back tests with very high marks and tell the student not to blame me for their results.)

          That’s why I wanted to know the thinking that went on to come up with that answer of ‘China’ because that thinking could reveal exactly what I as a teacher would be looking for: demonstrable evidence of learning by application.

          • To me it was funny because the answer highlighted a stereo type that you can witness in many chain retail shops. Made in China is a tag that has a reputation for second class, cheap, copy, and many words used as ‘not original’ in general meaning.

            I would think that the word ‘original’ and it’s meanings are the source of the confusion as to a correct answer which allows a stereo type understanding to surface in the mind as a possible answer. If the left side said ‘an original’ the answer might have been different as would ‘the original’ have given more meaning to the key word. The word ‘new’ would not elicit thoughts of copies but instead old. The original painting vs an original print includes the concept of copies that is not clearly delineated in the rules in our minds where a word like unique would. English is not an easy language. LOL

    • A parent that complains that china never innovates, they only copy what others do?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

