An Addiction To Indulgence?

I was going to reblog this but that misses out on a few things. Instead I asked for permission to reprint it with comment in the hopes of starting a bit of a discussion.

Lets start with a starting point:

 Indulge:

: to allow (yourself) to have or do something as a special pleasure

: to allow (someone) to have or do something even though it may not be proper, healthy, appropriate, etc.

: to patiently allow (someone) to do or say something

Addiction:

: a strong and harmful need to regularly have something (such as a drug) or do something (such as gamble)

: an unusually great interest in something or a need to do or have something

There it is, just 5 little sentences which lay bare the chinks in human language and expression. Oh, if only there were someone who could write and help us sort out this mess? I’m glad you asked that. Sahm King, I believe, has some helpful words on the topic. Please read.

Indulging in Addictions

I live for each moment

she says “I love you,

Babee” because

that’s as close as I

can come to understanding

why the crackhead

could never have agreed

with Whitney Houston.

But it’s those moments

she shows it that

find me expecting an

intervention conducted by

unwanted friends and family

concerned my binge

may be eating at my brain

and leaving my heart intact

and in control of my cognition.

But I say indulge, fool,

or die sober;

all’s fair in never trying.

And I say indulge, fool,

or die parched

and wanting.

SAKPoetry

 

Ok, re-read it. Maybe even several times. I did.

  • As you read this, what thoughts went through your head?
  • What imaginations were conjured up between your ears?
  • Is there an addiction you fear to indulge?
  • Do you have an indulgence which has become an addiction?
  • In the light of ‘the meaning of life’ can we really say that we indulge addictions or are we simply addicted to indulging?
  • Is there such a thing as too much of a good thing?
  • What does it mean to die parched and wanting?
  • What emphasis does this put on the hear and now?
  • Would you rather live forever or live a short life … if you are dead inside?
  • Indulge the experience of being, feed it to the point of addiction … or die parched and wanting.

How may we have heard this before?

It’s better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all. Just the experience is worth the pain. Some have said, no pain no gain. What do we gain from experience? What do we lose from not having it? Find an addiction and feed it… who says you have to be like everyone else, or what they pretend to be. Look what it did for MoTeresa… her addiction to sadism, oppression, and loathing secured her spot in history. I don’t know that  your addiction to growing Petunias will work quite as well, but give it a try. Who am I to tell anyone what kind of monkey they should have on their back.

What are your thoughts?

  1. Reblogged this on The Arkside of Thought and commented:
    Food for thought. I’m not just saying that.

  2. You know, I do believe there can be too much of a good thing. Take water. Water is a good thing. We’re 60-70% water. We need it to survive. But if you drink too much water, it can kill you. If you let water drip on exposed skin for long periods of time, it will eventually start to eat through it. I’d call that too much of a good thing.

    I have an addictive personality, I think. I smoke, which is always a bad thing. But I used to gamble. Heavily. At my worst, and considering I didn’t make much money, I could blow an easy grand in a night. Imagine me wealthy with this addiction. Luckily my bills were paid before I opted to indulge in that.

    Even too much love can be a bad thing. Perhaps that’s not the right phrasing… Too much…infatuation, that can be a bad thing. I won’t go into my views on true love, but I do believe that extreme infatuation can cause problems. I at least know it scares the living hell out of me, personally.

    There was a time that I would say that I was addicted to being with someone…which was bad because I knew from the beginning I shouldn’t have been with her. I almost married this person. I eventually broke up with her, but I imagined the worst possible outcomes, had I actually gone through with marriage, had we worked out our differences in that relationship… I think I would have ended up…disappearing myself because this woman cheated on me multiple times. Red flag after red flag after red flag. She was bad for my finances, on top of it. More red flags. And while she once told me she feared me doing to her what her did used to do to her mother (beating her mother), she had this very bad habit of hitting me. And I was going to marry this woman. Because I was, for some odd reason, afraid to be alone. Because, as I see it, I was addicted to being with someone; addicted to the presence of that person, even though I really didn’t want to be anywhere near her, even though I was never attracted to her physically. Even though I could never feel a thing for her but suspicion after the first time she cheated.

    I’m also addicted to writing, though. That’s only a bad thing when I have a job. I’m addicted to arts in general…or maybe it’s creation? Addicted to creation. I feel wrong if I’m not creating something on any given day…like I haven’t accomplished the purpose I set for myself.

    I think it’s a coin toss and really depends a lot on what one is addicted to. Addiction to heroine and cigarettes and alcohol isn’t like addiction to gardening or exercise or creating things. Some things can be nothing but destructive. Others, I think, will almost always serve to enhance you in some way. And if it’s something that will not ever have a negative impact on you, why not indulge in it? I don’t want to die thirsty.

    Sorry… I know this is looooong…

    • HOT DAMN….. BINGO!

      No, 55000 words is long, that’s just a good reply that you have written.

      To examine what addiction is good or bad one has to understand what addiction is. Leaving aside, for the moment, that drugs cause a physical addiction, what is an addiction that has no physical cause?

      Long time readers know that I understand consciousness to be a monitoring program of our brains which run a simulation of the world outside us. It is informed and guided by our senses. This simulation we live in has rules. Our simulators push us to act in ways that seek pleasure and avoid pain. While that seems obvious, when you break it down to rules for a simulation is becomes something else.

      Addictions are activities which satisfy both needs: seek pleasure and avoid pain.

      When you think about it, you know that your brain is all about neurons and electrical/chemical signals that inform your brain’s simulator of the outside world. Pain is given to us by our nerves… more signals. Once these signals get into your brain they are far removed from the actual source and are nothing more than a stream of information. Your simulation tells you it is painful not because your brain ‘feels’ pain, but because it interprets the signals as pain.

      Here’s the physical addiction part – without the drug’s chemicals, we ‘feel’ pain. It is the same mechanism which allows us to ‘feel’ the pain of another person’s situation. Watch someone get kicked hard in the balls and see if you don’t wince.

      Addiction, in the micro sense, is the reliance on certain signals to your brain to make you ‘feel’ safe from pain or closer to pleasure. That is to say that you can train your brain to rely on certain inputs to trigger the safe/happy/pleasure reactions and suppress the fear/pain kind of reactions in the simulation in your head.

      You mentioned ‘attraction/infatuation’ as an addiction. Can you see how that fits the brain’s simulation model where the person is adjusting the rules in the simulation to suppress fear/pain when getting attention from their desired person, and without that attention it causes ‘pain’ in the simulation. Addiction happens then when they become reliant on this stimulus to avoid pain.

      There is good and bad… but such is always subjective. I hope that I’ve pointed out that the addiction or indulgence is not the problem… it is the reliance on them and little else to be closer to pleasure and further from pain that causes problems. If you are not reliant on only the indulgence for pleasure / pain regulation then it does not become a harmful addiction even if it threatens to consume your life.

      This is why some people become addicted yet others do not for the same stimulus.

      Cogito ergo sum. I stand alone. I walk alone. I will die alone. I am. I am strongest when I am aware of myself and am responsible for all that I do and feel. I have no master and I have no slaves. If I have a desire it is to be counted among the brave. My monkeys are of my choosing, know that they and I are friends. Some come and go, others long since disappeared. Now I adjust my rules with reason more than rage and spite. Peace seems never present, yet it is not far away.

      Thanks for commenting!

  3. Mind.

    Blown.

    Errm… I have nothing further to contribute. I swear, never a day goes by without learning something. Makes for a good day. Hey, thanks a lot. 😀

    • Thank you for starting the conversation! 🙂

    • Matthew Chiglinsky
    • October 28th, 2013

    “What then? Shall we sin because we are not under the law but under grace? By no means! Don’t you know that when you offer yourselves to someone as obedient slaves, you are slaves of the one you obey — whether you are slaves to sin, which leads to death, or to obedience, which leads to righteousness? But thanks be to God that, though you used to be slaves to sin, you have come to obey from your heart the pattern of teaching that has now claimed your allegiance. You have been set free from sin and have become slaves to righteousness.”

    (Romans 6:15-18)

    • Okay Mathew, pull the bible stuffing out of your mouth. Try to speak without making the unfounded assertions of your religious belief. None of what you have said here matters a bit if there is no god and there is no reason to thing one is probable. You’re off to the races, but you left a few important things behind… directions for the course being one of them.

      But go on, tell me again how I’m a sinner because I don’t believe in your god or how you believe in and worship your god. Tell you what, you go convince a billion+ muslims and hindus and I’ll even listen to you. Try saving all that unfounded assertion for people that actually want to believe there is a god without any evidence ot support such belief.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

