Disillusioned with Christianity and the church

My readers know that I do not believe in gods and think religion is caustic to society on the whole. Here is a believer saying almost the same things… perhaps they deserve a listen. What do you think?

    • Courtney
    • October 6th, 2013

    Reblogged this on Love Without Fine Print.

    • chialphagirl
    • October 6th, 2013

    It is easy to become disillusioned with the church. Trust me, I was a youth pastor for a while, nothing like doing ministry to make you want to run from Christianity. But here is what I have found: a. You gotta be the change (I know it sounds cliche but a lot of people are disillusioned with the church and are doing nothing to be different on the personal level) and b. You probably need to find a new church. Look for one that talks about the things you mentioned…serving others, loving people, etc. There are churches that are alive and kicking in these ways but they are the few so really search. Don’t be afraid to go outside your denomination. And don’t give up.

    • Of course, there is only one god, only one holy text… but thousands of different churches. One can reasonably deduce from this that the god and the text have little to do with what a church is and does.

      Remember, it is NOT necessary to believe in a god. That is optional in life.

        • chialphagirl
        • October 6th, 2013

        Sorry. I meant to reply on the original post not to you, as an atheist obviously I don’t think changing churches will do much for you. 🙂

      • Perspective Collector
      • October 6th, 2013

      Heya, thanks for this comment.
      Just responding to b.
      I actually think it’s good to stay where I am because it’s good to be challenged and exposed to different ways of thinking and doing things. It keeps me sharp. Plus as many of my Christian friends say, I can challenge the people in my church to think about stepping away from the widescreen TV’s, fancy programs/buildings, etc. Let’s keep up the dialogue and not just go to where people agree with you.
      But yes, I can see where you’re coming from and have considered it many a time.

        • chialphagirl
        • October 6th, 2013

        Good deal. Just don’t be afraid to leave if it comes down to that church or your faith.

          • Perspective Collector
          • October 6th, 2013

          No way, I stand firm with God and don’t sway with people. I know they can be poor representatives, but they are only that – representatives. I make a poor representative at times too, and I hope that doesn’t turn people away from God, because there’s no need to for that reason alone.

          • Fortunately god’s representatives are not the only reason… but they are a good start.

              • Perspective Collector
              • October 6th, 2013

              Ditto!

      • I’m glad to hear it. I also wish you much good fortune.

    • Perspective Collector
    • October 6th, 2013

    Thanks for the reblog dude!

    • You’re welcome. It is good to see those who question religion and are still in it.

        • Perspective Collector
        • October 6th, 2013

        I know, I’d like to see more of it too! Nothing wrong with questions, people.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

