Why Prove That God Does Not Exist?

When a Christian antagonist pokes with the taunt “You can’t prove god doesn’t exist” I will now reply with this line of reasoning:

I don’t have to prove that the god of Abraham does not exist. You have to prove that Vishnu does not exist. Not for me, but to justify your belief in YHWH. If you cannot prove that Vishnu does not exist yet insist that he does not, why would I need to prove your god does not exist? Christians will heartily believe that gods other than YHWH do not exist without proof. I need not provide proof to be satisfied that YHWH does not exist. Whatever evidence offered as to why Vishnu does not exist will work for why YHWH does not exist.

A rose by any other name smells just as beautiful. A god by any other name would be just as miraculous.

The theist cannot prove their god exists. Moreover, it is not the atheist they have to convince. It is the theist of another religion that they must convince. To do this they must prove someone else’ god does not exist.

As a bonus, I got to watch three people as their brain rebooted while trying to contemplate the question. Priceless!

  1. in fact it is easy to prove that god does not exist without asking for proof of Vishnu. The thing is, let the person define their terms and work from there. Is the god so defined coherent? besides when dealing with a christian, looking at god as so described in the bible it is easy to show that such a god possibly can’t exist and that this god has evolved from many gods to one powerful god so we are never certain whether the other gods after sometime became more powerful

    • Perhaps you don’t see the value of watching them try to figure it out 🙂 It’s a beautiful thing to see them try to figure out how to do what they just posed to me while thinking it impossible for me to accomplish… your point is of course true, but I like it more when they have to think rather than simply defend.

  2. “God is almost certainly a lie, religion is a scourge upon the world, and you are wasting your life with a cultish devotion to nonsensical superstitions and soul-crushing dogmas. Also, you don’t have a soul.” – Mark Jaquith

    Way more fun than watching them reboot is to pop that one on them and walk away as they stand there slack jawed.

    • When that one seems appropriate, I will remember to use it… LOL

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting

    • J_Agathokles
    • March 7th, 2013

    I don’t think there can ever be empiric evidence of the Gods, only personal experience of them. I don’t think one can conclusively argue either way.

    • Ahhh, yes, but my point was that I don’t have to prove to a theist that their god does not exist if I can get them to do the work to prove some other god does not exist. See the distinction?

        • J_Agathokles
        • March 7th, 2013

        I do 🙂

  3. I like it!

  4. I never like trying this angle, I rather go for Jesus instead. It’s a lot easier to wind up the Crispyuns if you have a go at their man god.

    • Depending on the person, you’re right, and it’s good to have more than one approach.

      • Skilled apologists always use God and get metaphysical on your head, until you feel this uncontrollable urge to rush out and buy a William Lane Craig T-Shirt.
        The Ark shudders…..

        • I can’t unenvision that t-shirt ever, now, can I?

          • Craig has this effect on people. Five minutes of his incessant droning has been shown to elevate blood pressure to dangerous levels and in extreme cases brings on suicidal tendencies or worse, the need to lock oneself in a dark room and listen to Michael Buble non stop.
            Tragic. And a recognized illness, I believe.
            In fact, William Lane Craig comes with a Government Health Warning and those that engage him in debate are obliged to sign a waiver.
            If the function is expected to attract over 200 people the organizing committee have to sign a Mass Debate clause.
            It’s true…would I lie to you?

            • I think I want a copy of that debate clause…. for my office wall

              • I cannot recall the exact wording, offhand, but the Mass Debate clause went something like, William Lane Craig is a wanker. Don’t quote me, all right?

                • ROFL

                  • 😉

  5. This reminds me of quote that I often borrow when confronted with a theist and I am short on time;

    “I contend we are both atheists, I just believe in one fewer god than you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours.”
    …Stephen F Roberts

    • That is indeed a good quote. Hitchens has lots of them too but it seems to me that when expressed in the longer form so it is more easily unpacked, it is more successful.

    • Argus
    • March 11th, 2013

    Why bother? If so inclined pick a franchise and go empty your wallet into their collection box.

    If not so inclined then ‘let the dead live with their dead’ (so to speak) and go plant a garden; I do believe that you are nearer to God in a garden etc etc.

    But arguing or discussing with a rapt devotee (pick your God/goddess/godlet/whatever) (there’s thousands of ’em) is a pointless exercise. Especially well-trained ones like Mormons who have been schooled to sit silently with vacuous gaze while you talk yourself out, then cut back in where they left off (to the millisecond, would you believe?).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

