The Liebster Award Nomination

I’ve been nominated for another of those awards that looks a lot like an AMA (Ask Me Anything) via blog. It is nice to be well thought of and a couple of folk have indicated that there is not much of ‘me’ in my writing.

The award is the The Liebster Award Nomination

The amazing Maggie Carpenter has nominated me of http://maggiecarpenterdotcom.wordpress.com/

I couldn’t find much information about it, so I will answer the questions posed and twist the award process slightly, as I’m wont to do at times.

Here are the rules for receiving this award:
1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
2. Answer the questions that the tagger set for you plus create 11 questions for the people you’ve tagged to answer.
3. Choose 11 people and link them in your post.
4. Go to their page and tell them.
5. No tag backs!

The questions she posed to those she nominated are:

Of the world’s wild animals, which is your favorite?

I generally have a hard time with favorites when there are so many good choices. The Sea Horse with their paternal child care? The Honey Badger because Honey Badger don’t give a shit? Perhaps extremophiles living in places where humans could not even attempt to? LOL cats because their famous? Honey bees because they feed us? I think I’ll go with ‘my dog’ because he is able to show he loves me unconditionally.

If you could choose to have dinner with someone (real or fictional) who would it be?

Again, more favorites. I could  name thousands on this one. Jefferson, Washington, Genghis Khan, Epicurus, Constantine, Hitchens, Sagan, Galileo, Any of the engineering managers at the LHC, Hypatia, Q. Tarantino, Goddard, … really, this list could go on and on.

If you could become invisible for a day, what would you do?

Invisibility for a day is of little real use if you want to do bad things. It wouldn’t protect you if  you walked through a lion den or any other danger. It means only that humans would not see you and you could then spy on them. I can’t imagine a case where I would want to or need to spy on someone.  I don’t know what I’d do?

What did you think of your first kiss?

I remember that well. My best friends older sister used to think she was taunting us by puckering up and acting like she wanted a kiss. We left her alone like she had the plague for the most part. I got tired of it, so this one time she leaned out the car window all puckered up for a kiss to taunt us and I stepped up, held her face in my hands and kissed her deeply, longingly, like it would be the last kiss ever. With her it was the last kiss ever but she stopped the taunting and always kind of winked at me when I went over to my friends house after that…. hmmmm My first kiss was my first older woman experience too.

If you could relive something because it was so fabulous, what would it be?

On the assumption that it’s like a do-over, I’d relive being born. On the assumption that it’s just a replay then back to normal, there are thousands of things in my  life that I’d do again. I think that the moment I understood that knowledge is more important than any ritual or belief, that there are no gods, that I am the final and sole arbiter of what is good and bad in my life… that realization, yes I’d live that over again… and again… and again… wait, never mind.

If you could have sex with any super hero, who would it be and why?

Well, again with the favorites – I would have to go with Aphrodite. Wikipedia will explain the rest.

Who was your favorite cartoon character as a child?

I didn’t have one. I’d have to say that I more admired the notions behind cheesy 50’s and 60’s scifi flicks and you didn’t have to get up early to watch them. Giant crabs and spiders, alien invaders and on and on. Of course road runner, tom and jerry and foghorn leghorn were always fun.

Has a member of the opposite sex ever done something that completely shocked you? (Good or bad – your choice)

No. Yes, it’s that simple. See the answer for ‘first kiss’.

Do you believe in past lives?

No, this would imply a next life. This is the only one that we get. Even if I’m wrong I think it is best to live this one as if there are no others. You know, dance like no one is watching and all that…

Is there ever a good reason to lie?

Yes. There were many people who lied to German soldiers to protect the lives of the innocent. Lying is not immoral. What the lie accomplishes can be.

Who is/was your favorite rock group of all time?

Ouch! Really? I have to pick from 50+ years of musical talent and select one? I can’t do that. If you got to last.fm and use the ‘gothic metal’ tag you’ll get to see what I like. In fact, anything with metal in the genre name.

The Questions

Now, for the 11 questions I’m supposed to pass on to eleven other bloggers. I told you that I’d twist it a bit. I think that my writing is inspired by those that read and comment, by the world around me, and by what I learn of both. I’m especially inspired by those that are just starting a blog and have something to say. Many of you might know that I follow hundreds of blogs of various types and content. I can’t possibly limit what I like to just eleven bloggers or 11 blogs. I probably couldn’t set a limit of eleven types of blogs.

So these questions are for all who read them. Answer in the comments. I hope you find them interesting enough to warrant a few minutes of your day, including you Maggie. Thanks

  1. If there were a law of physics that made it impossible to tell a joke more than once, how would you ration them out? (1a) More to the point, if that law prevented you from saying ‘I love you’ to any one person more than once in a lifetime, how would  you ration that out?
  2. If you were to find yourself an exhibit in the zoo of an alien planet, what would you do?
  3. If you were given 1 trillion dollars that you had to give away to charity, what would you donate to?
  4. If you could change one thing about politics, what would it be?
  5. Describe a moment in your life when you felt the transcendent.
  6. If you had to pick one religion (other than your own) to be the ONLY religion on Earth, which would you choose and why?
  7. Which pet was your favorite? Current pets don’t count.
  8. Who has been your most influential teacher?
  9. Who do you most wish to emulate and why? Multiple answers are good.
  10. What music have you been listening to most in recent days?
  11. Where these easy questions to answer? Why?
  1. Q3. $1 Trillion dollars: Animal welfare/rescue groups, 2. SETI

    • Those are awesomely good places to donate. I’m working on a home brew project – linux cluster in a box, renovating an old MVME 88K CISC computer system case to hold 8 micro-ATX mobos and hard drives etc. I was working a bit on that project today and thought I wonder what the SETI rating would be…. hmmmm

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

