Double Jeopardy – The Liebster Award Nomination

I’ve been nominated for another of those awards that looks a lot like an AMA (Ask Me Anything) via blog. It is nice to be well thought of and a couple of folk have indicated that there is not much of ‘me’ in my writing.

The award is the The Liebster Award Nomination

Hello again. I appear to have been rapid fire nominated for this award twice. It is appreciated but I am not certain that I am deserving of so much love.

I know there are rules, as posted at http://ineedyoutoneedme.wordpress.com/ where “I need you to need me” has nominated myself for the award, but I think it only fair that I twist them again … I’ll answer these and repeat my previous questions – directed at all readers to answer in the comments rather than single out 11 bloggers I happen to follow.

1. WHAT WAS YOUR DREAM JOB GROWING UP?

I never dreamed of a job. At 9 years old I knew I would be working with electronics. I knew it. From that one moment there was never any question about it. I am largely self taught, and well paid. when I was in high school – before home computers – I took typing class because I knew I would need it. I can still type upwards of 65 wpm when I want to.

2. ARE YOU A CAT OR A DOG PERSON OR BOTH?

I’m a hairless ape. Kind of happy with that too. These thumb things are pretty awesome. The ears could be a bit sexier and a few other bits, but this form is kind of good. Mostly the thumbs though. How else would I hit the space bar?

3. DO YOU BELIEVE IN DESTINY/FATE/A REASON FOR EVERYTHING/WHAT’S MEANT TO HAPPEN WILL HAPPEN?

No, I don’t believe that we do not have free will nor that our lives are guided. Life is harsh and the universe essentially limited us to what we can do in many respects. That does not mean we have no choices. We each of us  can get up in the morning, pack a bag and move on without ever looking back. There is nothing to stop us but fear. Often enough that fear is justified and enough, but the truth is that we can do it. When people talk about destiny or fate I believe this is a way that they justify life’s events so that they see a cause and effect linkage. The truth is that there simply is no need for everything to have a cause and effect relationship – shit happens. It always has.

4. WHAT’S THE BEST ADVICE YOU WERE GIVEN THAT HAS STUCK WITH YOU OVER THE YEARS?

It was not advice per se that most sticks with me. It is the examples that people I’ve known showed me. When I was in third grade I got in trouble at school for fighting, basically because I took it upon myself to be the behavior police in class. A certain fellow didn’t like it, hence a fight. My dad simply said: you are responsible for your own choices and many times there is a price to pay… always be happy when you are paying it.

5. AT WHAT AGE DID YOU GET YOUR FIRST KISS?

I was probably 12-14 age. I didn’t get it… I gave it.

6. WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE THE 15YR OLD YOU?

Don’t stop going to school. Yes, do other things, but keep going back until it’s done.

7. IF YOU HAD TO CHOOSE BETWEEN A CITY LIFE AND THE COUNTRY, WHICH ONE WOULD IT BE?

I prefer that odd little spot between them .. the burbs. You get most of the benefits of both and can avoid many of the pitfalls of both city and country life.

8. ANYPLACE IN THE WORLD YOU HAVE ALWAYS WANTED TO VISIT?

I’d like to go back to Germany and spend more time, perhaps several of the surrounding countries. Train trip sounds romantic and fun.

9. WHAT ATTRACTS YOU TO SOMEONE OR IF YOUR WITH SOMEONE ALREADY WHAT ABOUT THEM GOT YOUR ATTENTION?

Honesty, lack of irrational fears, willingness to live with gusto. I could say more, but I rather like that you the reader will supply some of the back story on your own.

10. HOW DID YOU GET YOUR BLOG STARTED ON WORDPRESS?

Well, I started an account, and then made a post. I had wanted to write some things down .. for myself more than anyone else. I did not even dream that I would find the success that I have so far. I have other blogs which are not related to this one and I tend to keep them separate. I’m not trying to write on every topic in myatheistlife, just a few of the thinking topics which concern what we believe, why we believe it, how AI might work, and of course how some religions and other false beliefs are dangerous or can be dangerous to society. Just seeing the news is enough inspiration most days.

11. DID THESE QUESTIONS ANNOY YOU IN ANY WAY? LOL

Only in so much as they constitute a kind of double jeopardy 😉

 

 

So these questions are for all who read them. Answer in the comments. I hope you find them interesting enough to warrant a few minutes of your day. Thank you

  1. If there were a law of physics that made it impossible to tell a joke more than once, how would you ration them out? (1a) More to the point, if that law prevented you from saying ‘I love you’ to any one person more than once in a lifetime, how would  you ration that out?
  2. If you were to find yourself an exhibit in the zoo of an alien planet, what would you do?
  3. If you were given 1 trillion dollars that you had to give away to charity, what would you donate to?
  4. If you could change one thing about politics, what would it be?
  5. Describe a moment in your life when you felt the transcendent.
  6. If you had to pick one religion (other than your own) to be the ONLY religion on Earth, which would you choose and why?
  7. Which pet was your favorite? Current pets don’t count.
  8. Who has been your most influential teacher?
  9. Who do you most wish to emulate and why? Multiple answers are good.
  10. What music have you been listening to most in recent days?
  11. Where these easy questions to answer? Why?
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

