Did I Say I Don’t Like atheism plus?

You will often enough hear me talk about how monotheism is caustic to society on the whole and completely disagreeable for the individual. I ask that thinking theists call out those who abuse their religion and promote bigotry, hate, misogyny, inequality, and intolerance.

Well, let’s not be afraid to do the same when people use the word atheism to spread bigotry and hate. Elevator-gate has mushroomed into a long running battle between feminists and reasonable people who all claim to be atheists. Atheism is NOT a world view. It is nothing more than the lack of belief in gods or the supernatural. Read my blog, there are plenty of references and material for that.

Atheism plus is a group of feminists who have tried to hijack the word atheist and consequently general atheists into serving their agenda of female superiority. It’s a kind of hatred and bigotry that pushes for the female to be treated above equal and at the cost of equality for all people. Thunderf00t has been in the thick of this discussion since it started and has taken the reasonable side. The people in atheism plus are pretenders and con artists. I urge you to look at all the facts before thinking that they have a good world view.

Here are some videos to help with that investigative process. There are many videos to watch so don’t take my word alone. Look around, investigate, seek the truth on this rather than be taken in or simply assume that something is good because it sounded harmless.

 

 

 

 

 

If you are truly interested in equality for all, you’ll agree with the statement that ‘genital mutilation of children is wrong’ without worry if female genital mutilation is worse. All genital mutilation of children should be stopped and criminalized, male and female. Those atheism plus people say that male genital mutilation is nothing and we should be focusing on female genital mutilation only. It’s gender bias pure and simple.

There is nothing honorable about what these atheist plus people are doing. I denounce them here and now. They are not good people.

  1. I really can’t find any fault in your assertion. Atheism is atheism: no gods. Secularism if fighting religious influence. Being a good citizen is fighting bigotry and hate.

  2. “Atheism plus is a group of feminists who have tried to hijack the word atheist”

    Well, no, that’s why it’s named “Atheism plus”; it’s still a group of atheists, but not solely about atheism, and no more of a hijack than, say, a blog named “my atheist life” is a hijack of “atheist.”

    • Despite the plausible technical grammar issue here, I disagree. If I tell you that I’m using chemistry plus it tells nothing of what I’m talking about except that chemistry is involved. The same is true for atheism plus. So it has something to do with atheism – wrong. A much more accurate term would be “nominally atheist people doing feminist stuff”. Why not call it humanism?

      The reason is that they want to change or alter the atheist movement in accordance with their own narrow agenda. I still cringe when I hear that. There is no movement. There isn’t even a community in any meaningful sense of the word. This is in effect a hijacking of the term.

      In the title of this blog the word is used as a descriptor of MY life. I don’t tell people what their atheism should mean to them or what they have to do to be good atheists or what their world view as an atheist should be. It is about MY Atheist Life. or My life as an atheist. This is not misleading in any way, nor a perverted use of the word. There is no bait and switch in it.

  3. their agenda of female superiority.

    Need to see a copy of the female superiority agenda please.

    It’s a kind of hatred and bigotry that pushes for the female to be treated above equal and at the cost of equality for all people.

    Need to see evidence of this from atheist plus people. Otherwise it would seem like your happily bashing away at straw positions you’ve made up.

    The people in atheism plus are pretenders and con artists.

    Would it be okay to say that people that against A+ are prone to making sweeping generalizations? My claim of course is based on evidence, as per the quoted material. Yours well… not so much.

    Thunderf00t has been in the thick of this discussion since it started and has taken the reasonable side.

    If by ‘reasonable’ you meant defender of patriarchy and the status-quo, then yes. You are absolutely correct.

    If you are truly interested in equality for all, you’ll agree with the statement that ‘genital mutilation of children is wrong’ without worry if female genital mutilation is worse.

    Because FGM and MGM happen exactly the same way, under the exact same circumstances and and exactly the same rate and have exactly the same complications and exactly the same social consequences because males and females with regards to sex are treated exactly the same world-wide.

    Not appreciating nuance in arguments is fine, we all miss stuff. Basing your objection on a misconception qualifies the argument in question into another category: somewhere between ignorant and obtuse, your choice.

    There is nothing honorable about what these atheist plus people are doing. I denounce them here and now. They are not good people.

    I agree, burn the heretics for their blasphemy…

    • I read this reply a couple of times. On reflection, since I would be biased and score myself better I decided that not counting my comments on this blog, you have the best snarky-rant-comment so far. I’d give you a 7.5 out of 10. Congratulations.

      • Disagreement is the vital heart of any movement. Thank you for providing this space to disagree and ponder about our positions.

        Should I be proud of the 7.5? 🙂

        • Well, since you’re a full 6+ points above the next best, I’d say yes… be proud … lol, your rant made me think a bit. I didn’t change my mind of course, but it did give me pause. You’re welcome here, rants or not.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

