Here is a good post. There is need of all of us to study what happened in ancient times and not just what that books says to look at. Look at all of it, study it as a history so that we may know real facts.

R. L. Culpeper

PREFACE

This is the second installment of The Evolution of Religious Thought.  In this section I describe the process in which religious beliefs transfer between cultures.  Towards the end, I briefly touch on the affect this had on monotheism, specific to Christianity.  The purpose of this section is to provide the reader with a background on cultural diffusion so that when I begin discussing monotheism, some of the processes that Christianity and Islam implemented won’t be foreign.  I have assumed an intermediate level of understanding with regard to my examples, so if anyone feels I should elaborate more, please let me know.  Finally, here is a link to the first section of The Evolution of Religious Thought: The Genesis of Credulity.

Cultural Diffusion

There are generally three ways a conqueror handles those he defeats: by genocide, displacement, or assimilation.  The most common method is assimilation; often through slavery, but frequently by…

View original post 737 more words

    • J_Agathokles
    • January 6th, 2013

    I read it and made a response. I hope. For some reason, even though I am logged in, that page appears to me as if I am not logged in, and I had to fill in my details to post a comment, rather then it being done automatically like on this blog. I don’t know why that is… I think the URL’s without the .wordpress. bit give the problem, though they never used to…

    • I get that sometimes too and if I do a like from reader it doesn’t seem to take on the blog…. it’s confusing

        • J_Agathokles
        • January 7th, 2013

        Well, at least I’m not the only one experiencing this problem.

      • I was unaware of this problem. I noticed the other day that you liked one of my posts, but it didn’t actually appear. I’ll have to contact WordPress if this continues.

        • I stay logged on nearly 24/7 via two or more computers so I think the recent update took a bit for me. Reader is still doing funny things when I click on the comment notifier button.

          • I have noticed a change in the reader. I hope that reverts back.

            • The start/my blogs page has changed also. I suspect this was the problem with my likes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

