I’m An Atheist: What Now – Part 2

I continue to ask myself and others: Okay, I’m an atheist – now what?

There do not seem to be any good answers for that. Seriously, there isn’t. At least I’ve not found them.

There are no good answers for that because it is not a world view or a goal. It is something that you are not. Once you become atheist all your other problems remain. It only solves one problem – how to answer the question of whether or not there is a god. So I ask, as you should, ‘now what?’

It is almost a silly really. Atheism does not bring new things to your life, rather it removes things that are not needed and are completely unnecessary. I know, your pursed lips and slowly shaking head are about to ask me what the hell I mean. Sit down, get comfortable. This bit is completely conjecture on my part, but conjecture borne of years of trying to answer that question. Please take note that I said trying to answer it. I am certain of many things, but how you should live your life is not one of them.

Okay, so what answers did I find?

The simple form is ‘there is no answer’ if you must exhibit your impatience here on my blog.

The smart-ass answer is “why are you asking me what you should do with your life?”

That is the problem. Once  you have rid yourself of the exhausting delusion of religion all that is left is to live your life. No, don’t do it. Don’t ask me how you should live your life. I have plenty enough problems figuring that out for my own life. Well, I think I’ve got a handle on it but that doesn’t mean that it will work for  you. Lives are kind of personal, not one-size-fits-all. I can’t tell you what to do nor can anyone else. Certainly that won’t stop many from trying but this is the thing. Getting rid of religion is equivalent to getting rid of most of the people that _want_ to tell you how to live. Stop asking me to explain how you can replace them.

 

Here are some people just being human. Life has no more meaning than what you assign to it. Be yourself. Be human. Be.

 

 

Sure, not everyone can do stuff like that, so what else is there. Well, there is the people that fed all those people and watched. There is the person that works for months to get the city to finally put up a stop sign to save kid’s lives. There is the person that campaigns to get a change to local ordinance to allow a new park. There are the people that exercise every morning in the local park. There are people who give tours of all the local attractions. There are people that study the geology of the land where they live. There are people that teach children about the very abundant life in their back yard. There are people that volunteer at the pet shelter. There are people that go to ball games. There are people that work hard to get top score on the Space Invader’s machine at the local bowling alley. There are thousands of things you can do. There are people who usher at the local theater. There are people who are backups for local orchestra members. There are people who write books, read books, and blog etc. There are literally millions of things you could do. You might invent the next super efficient solar electric system for remote villages and medical devices. Who knows? Only you.

 

Love is often enough found when you stop looking. True meaning, likewise, is best found when not seeking.

If there is meaning, it need not be found, for if it be meaning it was never lost. If it be lost, there is no need to look for it. It knows the way home.

Meaning and purpose are masters of nothing and slaves to none. If it is said they exist, then they are not. If they are not, then truly you have found them.

What next? You tell me. What will you be doing next? Stop by now and then to say ‘hey, I’ve got tickets to such and such event’ or ‘ just booked a class to learn to scuba dive’ or whatever you’re doing. That’s what is next.
I should start a web site, maybe. What do you think?
    • J_Agathokles
    • January 3rd, 2013

    What’s left to do? Pretty much the same as for religious people; working to improve ourselves and try to make the world a little better place by the time you die, in whichever way is suited to you (general you).

    • Indeed, yet many of us still look for someone to say what that is. I’m going to keep writing about it. I’m still reading your post. It’s been a hell of a day (36 hours) with work.

  1. Writing a post on this very thing right now! Be up in a few hours 🙂

    • Awesome! I think it’s important to talk about it. Looking forward to your post.

    • J
    • January 3rd, 2013

    Life is what you want it to be but its not easy. The harder we try and the more we put in (whatever we like to do) the bigger and better the rewards we get out. Religion stifles life. Us athiests are free to enjoy life. Peace.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

