Here it is, a set of pictures you can look at every day and remind yourself why religion poisons everything. Don’t worry, there will always be new pictures to add to this. Thanks to thatcatkatie we all have a nice collection to get started with.

An atheist, a secularist, an agnostic.

Problems with religion.

Before you ever tell me religion has a positive impact, look at this. Since religion is an institution with a real moral obligation (or so you’d think, since that’s what it’s supposed to be all about – living your life the way your God wants) you’d think it would produce more positive impacts rather than create fear, violence, and senseless hate.

View original post

  1. Wow!!! It sure does look bad doesn’t it? But this is “religion”. I try to practice spirituality. Through the love and strength by God, through the Holy Spirit, I do the best I can to “love the unlovable”; “forgive the unforgivable”; and learn that “I can not do anything good on my own, but only to act as a channel for the love of Christ to this world.” Unfortunately for Jesus, many of his followers have given Him a bad name. I pray that I (mostly) don’t fall into this category. I don’t want to fall into the category of blaspheming His holy name.

    • Well, that’s the thing. If an non-believer is good it is because they are good. If they are bad it is because they are bad. You’ve just stated that if a believer does good it is because of a god and if they do bad it is because of them. Why wouldn’t it also be the god’s fault if they do bad? If your god controls everything to the point that the god gets all the credit for good, isn’t bad behavior simply a failure on the god’s part to make the person do good?

      I’ll bet that you believe that god had a plan for you before you were born and knew everything that you would do, right? What does that do to explain his culpability when you do good but not when you do bad. He knew you would do the bad before you were born yet did nothing to prevent it. Sure, you can claim the free will thing but then isn’t it your doing when you do good and not your god’s?

      This is why it’s a bit of a conundrum to say that some people sure give religion a bad name. Either god is responsible for the behavior of believers or he is not. If god is not responsible, then all the good that people do is done without a god controlling them. Can you see where this is going?

      • Yes, I absolutely get your point. If God is to be held responsible for all the good things Christians do, then He should also be held responsible for all the bad we do too. So what do I have to say about this – from a Christian’s perspective…I’m not sure myself. But I have a well-worn Christian mentor that I will bring this issue up with. I’ll talk about it with her and get back to you after that. I see her Wednesdays so I’ll get back to you by Thursday 11/8

        • Take your time. Such things as truth and our understanding of it do not require haste. Indeed, they should probably and rightly suffer for the use of it.

          • – ok – I am being judgmental, as you say. But I am human and I believe this comes with the territory. I see judgmentalism in everything I think, do and say. For instance “I don’t like eggs. Oatmeal is better than eggs for breakfast”. In almost everything I encounter I am making judgments. I lean either towards or away from everything. I am neutral in a few things that don’t effect me at all but overall – I am human, and humans judge things.
            What do you think about this?

            An aside. I was unable to meet with my mentor today, so I will not be able to answer our discussion (on whether god is responsible for both the good and bad that goes on here, or if He gets credit for the good and the bad is credited somewhere else). Until next week. I will make a note in my book about this question so I don’t forget it – and I will get back to you, regarding this, next week.

            • Your first paragraph about being judgmental – well, I cannot have said it better myself. It is what we humans do – constantly. That is how we survive and thrive. The command to not judge others is completely unrealistic and designed to make you fail.

              Please take your time on the other. As I said, such matters should not be rushed.

    • I don’t believe anyone is unlovable or or forgivable. I think your spirituality has given you a superiority complex.

      • Hmm, that is an interesting view of it. I think I agree even though there are people who qualify for both. A pastor who kills a mother to satisfy his necrophilia is just such a person in my view. Unlovable and unforgivable. There is just this life. If you are cruel to others I don’t think there is any redemption for that kind of thing. Some people just need to be buried already As meat machines we must (I think) admit that some of us are broken in ways that are not repairable or that should not be repaired. That brings up completely different topics of course, but when do we decide that repair is better than replace? It’s not an easy question and for now I’ll defer to an Eastwood quote “Do you feel lucky punk, well do ya?”

        Without tools to fix the broken machines efficiently, I don’t know that fixing all machines is the best answer right now. Some just need to be replaced.

      • Hearing what you just said… You are speaking from a superior point of view. Do you understand this? You just put me down from a superior stance for saying that I feel superior to someone else.

        • Does an observation necessarily mean taking a superior or inferior or any kind of stance? He did point out that you make an odd point – loving the unlovable which in it’s very statement says that the person(s) is not lovable – it’s a judgmental statement by its very nature. Perhaps that is not how you meant it, but it is what you said. It infers a moral stance which judges others as inferior in a plain text reading of what you have said… despite what you might have meant. I’ve recently had a lesson in reacting to quickly, so I urge you to not react but listen to what is being said. It might be useful.

        • I defer to myatheistlife’s response.
          Also, I would add, if I made any mistake to sound too superior, it might be that instead of saying “I think your spirituality has given you a superiority complex” I should have been more specific and said “I think your spirituality has given you A REASON TO HAVE a superiority complex.” However, this is not a significant difference, in my opinion. Is my statement a put down? I don’t think so. We all have something about our personalities which we can improve upon. If you continuously make statements like you did, more and more people will feel uncomfortable around you. I’m just trying to help you notice what aspect of your personality might cause this.

          • Heah, you are the “great antagonizer” aren’t you? I almost got sucked into that one – almost.

  2. Regarding why God should not be given credit for the bad if He is given credit for the good that goes on in our world.
    I have put out this question to all my Christian friends on my e-mail list and I will get back to you regarding any answers I get to this question.

    • I’m looking forward to it 🙂

  3. WoW! Good effort compiling all this together.

    • It’s a reblog from thatcatkatie, a link is at the top of the post. I encourage you to pop over there and check out her blog. She does a good job. Thanks for stopping by.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

