It’s A Good Day To Die

What many may not realize is that there is a lot to learn from the stoic characters that Clint Eastwood played. I identify with them for simple reasons. His characters relied on no other, did not harm others when not necessary, and was ready to die or kill. There is nothing inhumane about this, it is the animal in we human apes. His characters portrayed the law of reciprocity in almost all of his films. I think he was a good influence on society in this respect.

I think that Josey Wales has a lot to teach us about how to deal with religion. Sure, it does not translate easily, but the attitude is the thing. Confidence backed by the knowledge that today is a good day to die. I have my world view. I will defend it until someone shows me facts which contradict it… until then, today is a good day to die.

 

I reckon so

 

Whether you like this or not, my convictions about my world view are similar to Eastwood’s characters. I don’t want to be wrong, so if you have evidence, show it. Until you have that… well… it’s a good day to die.

  1. “His characters relied on no other, did not harm others when not necessary, and was ready to die or kill.”

    When backed into a corner I can see myself assuming a similar character as of Josey Wales, as any animal who might be cornered would assume. Yet, as social animals we must rely on others in many aspects of our lives. This is why humans survived is that we developed social groups, this is why even atheists seek others of similar mindset to socialize, to rely upon.
    I have always admired the character Clint Eastwood personified. I say character, instead of characters, because in any role he played, it seemed always the same character, just different scenarios.

  2. Yes, it was always the same character more or less, except for a couple of movies. Stoic.

    I wish I had had those atheist groups to rely on all these years. I’ve had to do this mostly on my own, never meeting another atheist for decades. This is why, for the most part, I am somewhat critical of the thought that there is an atheist movement. I just can’t think of a non-stamp collector’s movement. Not collecting stamps is something you do by yourself. Sure, you can spend time with other people while you’re not collecting stamps, but you don’t spend time with them for the express purpose of not collecting stamps.

    Josey Wales wasn’t anti-social. His little war against reg-leggs put him outside polite society. A war not of his choosing. I don’t think that his situation is dissimilar to what many non-believers face. Ostracized in full view of the public… or so it can feel.

    • What is the value of non-stamp collecting? If all stamp collectors were trying to make everyone else collect stamps perhaps you might see the value there. If all stamp collectors looked at non-stamp collectors and sneered, perhaps then. If all stamp collectors said that you had to collect stamps or die a horrible death lasting for an eternity, perhaps then. If stamp collectors told you that you were evil for not collecting stamps….
      Whereas not collecting stamps is often used as an analogy, it doesn’t actually explain why many atheists decide … enough is enough. Then, allowing that an individual is not as strong as a group, you might seek out like-minded individuals and try to form one.

  3. That’s a good point. I guess another analogy is needed. I might just post on this subject. hmmmm
    Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

