The Meaning Of Halloween

I know that you are expecting me to explain Samhain to you and the turnips and such but I’m not going to do that.
With time our culture changes and it no longer has that meaning. The kids that came to my door tonight were not interested in such stories. They have no idea of such stories and their parents were concerned only that they get some sugar with no danger. Their parents were not worried about demons and witchcraft. So it is that I will tell my post-mortem for Halloween.

First, I like this holiday. It’s awesome and has awesome tradition. My decorations are normally cited by visitors as quite good. For the last couple of years I’ve had 5 year old children crying at my door for candy… with real tears.

Tonight I received many compliments but they also said the house down the street was better. I do not know of any better way to challenge an American at all. Next year, Disney has nothing on me, I’m going animatronic, people sensors, full electronic control… you want candy? You’re going to have to scream first!

The gauntlet has been thrown. Fuck that bastard down the street with his murder scene. No one will remember it in November of next year. GRRRRRRRRR

    • J_Agathokles
    • November 1st, 2012

    I really don’t get this American obsession with decorations for Halloween/Christmas/whatever…

    • It’s an odd thing, I have to admit. But the sheer joy of hearing young people scream with fear or seeing a 5 year old mumble “trick or treat” through a teary face is indescribable.

      I try to make sure my lawn is one of the best in the neighborhood all year. It’s kind of like some unspoken competition. At Christmas there are some neighborhoods who hire out a horse and buggy to sell rides to see all the lights and decorations. It’s just a thing to do. It’s morale building in a way, as much as it must seem crazy, it makes the day that much more special.

      For Halloween, it makes it much nicer for the kids. Many of them won’t be able to go to professional haunted houses, so it’s kind of like a one day theme park for the kids and makes the neighborhood more of a community. Not sure how else to describe it.

  1. The meaning of Samhain is November… 🙂

    • minus christ
    • November 1st, 2012

    Plot twist, guy down the street actually murdered someone. Lends to that air of authenticity.

    • Well, he does have a windowless van… hmmmm

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

