An Evening With Mr. Krauss

Dr. Lawrence M. Krauss is known to many but some people will tell you that he is not known by enough people. You probably know some of the quotable things that he’s said. Yet I’m willing to bet that you haven’t spent much time listening to him. He is an entertaining speaker, in the sense that he’s above average. He is a very likable speaker but I don’t think he’s going to get his own HBO series. What can most definitely be said of him is that he is a talented human being, as demonstrated in the first video.

 

 

I invite you to spend an evening listening to Mr Krauss. What he has to say is important, not least because he makes great sense of what most of us have trouble recognizing as a topic for conversation.

Robert Heinlein once wrote:

A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects. p.248

I believe that Mr Krauss has made an attempt to make good on that.

Here then, we slide off to an evening of Mr Krauss … doing his thing. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There is no better way to hear it explained than by someone that understands it like Mr Krauss.

 

 

I really liked this talk.

 

  1. I am not saying I understand everything he says, but I do think he tries to make the things he says understandable to some of us who have trouble understanding some things. 🙂

    lol

    • He is one of the people that can explain why nothing really isn’t nothing, among other hard concepts to understand. I like listening to him, and he has a good sense of humor 🙂

  2. I love Lawrence Krauss. One of my favorite people to read and listen to.

    • I’m quite fond of him and his speaking style. There is something about it that make me feel like I’m listening to Galileo talk about his telescope. I think he would be awesome to host a night of physics at the pub.

      • He would be awesome to host anywhere, any time! Haha… His ability to translate his intelligence into comprehensive sentences for the masses is truly amazing

        • yeah, it’s as if he actually sees the world the way ‘normal’ people see it 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

