Lies From The Pulpit

I remember clearly the moment that it dawned on me that even though my parents and others had not maliciously lied to me, they had actually lied to me. They did what they were taught was the best things, yet did not teach me truths in regard to gods, ghosts, magic, and religion. It had a profound impact on me when this moment came. I was dumbstruck with a single thought: they don’t know. They don’t know that they are wrong. They don’t know that they don’t have the truth. They don’t know it is a lie. These were not questions, they were realizations. In less than a minute my view of life changed for the better. The religion stuff simply is not true and any truth there may be in it is not important enough to warrant the entirety of it. It just isn’t true.

Trust me when I tell you that I know how some of the people in church pews are feeling lately. It would seem that all sects of Christianity are losing their leaders to atheism or finding out their priest is a paedophile, or their pastor is a rapist. Organized religion is crumbling, in full view of the 24 hour news cycle. The honest believers have to feel betrayed, lied to, and belittled.  While they are feeling like victims they have only their leadership to blame and everywhere they look are atheist billboards, lawsuits, and even children pushing their beliefs around.

To all of that I say GOOD!  It is exactly that kind of realization that has pushed me into a better understanding of the world and a better understanding of myself. I think it really is good for them, and by extension all the rest of us.

Here is some of the stories I read today that percolated that thought to my fingertips:

A good write up about Teresa MacBain over at the Friendly Atheist

“My name is Teresa,” she begins. “I’m a pastor currently serving a Methodist church — at least up to this point” — the audience laughs — “and I am an atheist.”

Rep. Pete Stark spoke up in Congress for the National Day of Reason and that simply flies in the face of the National Day of Prayer. (Thank you Rep. Stark)

Why, hells bells, they are even turning GAY. The FreeThinker has a post about Fear and loathing at Melbourne’s Seventh Day Adventist Church.

It’s about time that the truth came crashing into their bubbles, or so I think.

http://freethinker.co.uk/

  1. lol Well i do see your point how it would appear by many of these wolves in sheeps clothing that true Christianity or religion for that matter is bunk,,,,Organized religion is falling quickly

    • Yes, it seems like every other day there is a MSM story about some religious leader in trouble. I remember my youth as a pentecostal evangelical preacher’s kid and youth leader… such things would have caused me great consternation. Back then all the paedophiles were ‘illegal’ witch covens and devil worshippers according to the news.

  2. I think you would really enjoy some of my atheist videos i have posted
    take your time and enjoy some especially the animated ones

    http://themoderndaynomads.wordpress.com/category/atheist-videos/

    • Thanks, I will. Thanks for the comments. My recent surge in comments and likes has kept me busy… but I’m trying to get around to reading everyone else’s blogs. Awesome.

  3. Organised religion does seem to be suffering, and I agree that’s for the best. But, particularly here in the UK, churches have traditionally fulfilled an important community function. Because most people attended the same parish church, local people all knew each other and helped each other out. We need to think hard about how to keep the positive aspects of communities together in a post-religious age.

    • Why, oh why is it that because some people think religion fosters communal aspects that the non-religious should emulate this?

      Those very same communal aspects are exactly how the religions give booster shots of indoctrination and reinforce previous indoctrination… make everything seem good while brainwashing the congregation.

      Non-theists can find other ways to enjoy community atmosphere. We do not need the tools of control to find it.

      • “Non-theists can find other ways to enjoy community atmosphere. We do not need the tools of control to find it.”
        That’s exactly what I’m talking about – finding those other ways.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

