Starving On Thanksgiving Day

That’s right, today about 15000 people will starve to death or die of nutrition related issues. I just made a donation the size of what I spent on the day… did you? Why not? Are you not thankful enough?

  1. I typically don’t give to human causes. About a third of my money goes to animal shelters and the brave people out there actually rescuing animals, though.

    • I know my taunts focus on humans, but Nietzsche will tell you that the least and most human thing we can do is to help another and protect them from harm. Life is life is life is life is life. We’re all animals in the end.

      • This is true, and even though they can help themselves i do (from time to time) help them. Humans that is. Abandoned animals aren’t so lucky, though.

        • All my pets are rescue pets… and I donate to help animals regularly also…

          • I know. We’ve chatted about this before. You’re a good man. Actually, just yesterday i was at the vet and saw the biggest Pitbull i’d ever seen… this thing was a dinosaur! I thought about you.

            • Pitbulls are awesome creatures. The joy and curiosity of a puppy. the skill and focus of a Sherpa, all wrapped in the colossus that terrorizes the uninitiated.

              • I have a great story to tell. Two weeks ago a huge black pitbull wondered into our area. He was a big boy, tall, too. My heart sunk. Lost, but more likely abandoned, he really didn’t stand a chance. Huge black pitbulls don’t exactly cry out, “Help me, I’m nice.” I helped. Fed him, watered him, but that was about all I could do, then he disappeared before we could take the next steps. He showed up again a week later, on the other side of the hill we live on. My wife called and I raced up in the car. The peoples whose house he was outside agreed to let him stay inside the fence, for the night. That morning, though, a message we put out on FB got a hit. Someone’s mother had seen a sign announcing a lost black dog in the next district. We called, but had to wait for a reply. Again, this is a big black pitbull…. But god he was gorgeous and so gentle. Long story short, after a false alarm, then another hopeful reply we found the owner the next day. He had escaped. I wish there were more of those stories, but damn he was a good dog.

          • You suck as an atheist.

            • Lets have a look at the comment policy on your blog, shall we?

              Comment Policy

              I disabled comments on this blog after finding that it was mostly people who disagreed who were motivated enough to write anything back, which would have introduced a bias in the opposite way that I intended (my own).

              Also, I have a lot of unconventional ideas, which makes me an easy target, and it would take a lot of time out of my day to argue with everyone who disagrees with me. If I want a differing (mainstream) point of view, I’ll turn on the TV or do a web search myself.

              So, if you feel the need to vent your frustration and insert your own ideas into the universal unconscious, then I recommend you either (a) start your own blog, (b) post to some social-media web site, or (c) post to an old-fashioned message board.

              • This guilt-trip post makes you seem more like a humanist than an atheist. You should change your domain name from “myatheistlife.wordpress.com” to “myhumanistlife.wordpress.com”.

                humanist: “a doctrine, attitude, or way of life centered on human interests or values; especially : a philosophy that usually rejects supernaturalism and stresses an individual’s dignity and worth and capacity for self-realization through reason”

                http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/humanist

                • I would say that your definition of atheism needs some help. Being atheist does not preclude one from also being humanist.

    • What the hell is wrong with you? What good does helping animals do for anyone?

      • Lets have a look at the comment policy on your blog, shall we?

        Comment Policy

        I disabled comments on this blog after finding that it was mostly people who disagreed who were motivated enough to write anything back, which would have introduced a bias in the opposite way that I intended (my own).

        Also, I have a lot of unconventional ideas, which makes me an easy target, and it would take a lot of time out of my day to argue with everyone who disagrees with me. If I want a differing (mainstream) point of view, I’ll turn on the TV or do a web search myself.

        So, if you feel the need to vent your frustration and insert your own ideas into the universal unconscious, then I recommend you either (a) start your own blog, (b) post to some social-media web site, or (c) post to an old-fashioned message board.

      • :)

  2. Thank you for sharing this. I agree! It’s good to know someone who genuinely cares for those in need.

    • to me, this is just a slap in the face of humanity… to celebrate good fortune while our kin starve…

      • Agreed. Not to mention, Thanksgiving Day is really celebrating national massacre day.

        • oh, it’s a celebration of a lot of things. Most of them cause little baby jesus to cry…. but that doesn’t stop the NFL or anyone else from gorging themselves on it

      • Apparently you aren’t aware that our entire capitalist economy is based on the principle of exploiting poor people. Donating to charity is a rather futile way to ease your deluded conscience.

        • Lets have a look at the comment policy on your blog, shall we?

          Comment Policy

          I disabled comments on this blog after finding that it was mostly people who disagreed who were motivated enough to write anything back, which would have introduced a bias in the opposite way that I intended (my own).

          Also, I have a lot of unconventional ideas, which makes me an easy target, and it would take a lot of time out of my day to argue with everyone who disagrees with me. If I want a differing (mainstream) point of view, I’ll turn on the TV or do a web search myself.

          So, if you feel the need to vent your frustration and insert your own ideas into the universal unconscious, then I recommend you either (a) start your own blog, (b) post to some social-media web site, or (c) post to an old-fashioned message board.

  3. Good point, well made.

  4. Who are you trying to impress with that donation? I thought you were an atheist. You don’t need to impress me, and I don’t need to impress you. The only reason to help anyone is if it will indirectly benefit yourself in the future (or if you are bored and have too much time on your hands).

    • Lets have a look at the comment policy on your blog, shall we?

      Comment Policy

      I disabled comments on this blog after finding that it was mostly people who disagreed who were motivated enough to write anything back, which would have introduced a bias in the opposite way that I intended (my own).

      Also, I have a lot of unconventional ideas, which makes me an easy target, and it would take a lot of time out of my day to argue with everyone who disagrees with me. If I want a differing (mainstream) point of view, I’ll turn on the TV or do a web search myself.

      So, if you feel the need to vent your frustration and insert your own ideas into the universal unconscious, then I recommend you either (a) start your own blog, (b) post to some social-media web site, or (c) post to an old-fashioned message board.

      • I found your blog by tracking this psycho Matthew Chiglinsky… I love the way you deal with his comments. Thank you!

        • I love your nic. Thanks for commenting and stopping by. He seems to have taken his own advice ;)

          Hopefully much of the rest of my writing is interesting as well.
          MAL

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers

