What I Want for Christmas: Not a Damn Thing

myatheistlife:

It’s time to start thinking about gifts again… NOT
Read this post and then hear me say “yeah, what he said”

Originally posted on Whatever:

Another in my series of “post once, refer people to later” entries, this time on gift giving:

For a number of years, I’ve told people who have been thinking of getting me something for Christmas or whatever holiday excuse they have for gift giving that I’d simply prefer they not get me anything at all. The reaction to this often ranges from confusion (i.e., how can you not want gifts?) to exasperation that my insincere “no, no, you don’t have to get me anything…” ways just means they will have to be extra crafty in getting me a gift, since I’m not helping them by hinting at what I want. This is when people ask my wife what I want, and she tells them that I told her years ago to stop getting me Christmas gifts. At which point I suspect their heads explode.

So, honest and truly: If you’ve…

View original 1,291 more words

  1. Wow!
    My sentiments EXACTLY! It took a very long time to get there (31 years) but both my feet are now firmly planted in the knowledge that Christmas is in fact (I don’t like to swear but…) total bull s**t

    • Yes it is, consumerism gone wild. I try to boycott it.

  2. Hee, Hee, Hee,
    boycott Christmas!!
    rc

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 600 other followers

