Who Is Your Favorite Atheist?

There are literally thousands of famous atheists throughout human history. One of my favorites was the first person in the ancient world to ask “What do you mean there is a man in the sky?” We’ll never know who that was but we can be certain that they existed.

Here is a post about some famous atheists on Youtube.

Brainz.org has this list of top 50 atheists.

www.TheBestschools.org has this list of top 50 current atheists.

One of my all time favorites is an absolutely entertaining writer, Samuel Clemmons (Mark Twain) has a lot to say about religion and gods, and atheism.

Mark Twain

They don’t make digital images like this any more!

He was a fine writer, great thinker, entertaining, and good looking. Take that Socrates!

 

    • Joe ‘Blondie’ Manco
    • May 6th, 2012

    One of the greatest men that ever lived.

    • I’ll second that. I’ve yet to find something he wrote that has not made me think about how I view life…

  1. You know, I haven’t read any Mark Twain other than brief quotations. He’s not as influential in the UK, I suppose. I’ll check him out.

    Boring, obvious choice, but my favourite is Dawkins (even though I think he sometimes does more to harm his cause than help it). His essay “Viruses of the Mind” caused me sleepless nights when I was a Christian. It was mental agony trying to refute it even though I found its arguments very powerful.

    I stayed a Christian for another three years or so, but I don’t think I would have thought my way out of fundamentalism without it.

    • To me, Twain is to common sense as Dawkins is to science.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 600 other followers

